RNLI lifeguards will return to East Devon’s beaches from Saturday (April 29) as patrols for the 2017 summer season get underway.

Read more
Wed, 10:56

Armed police were called out to an address in Exmouth on Wednesday, April 26.

Read more
Mon, 11:38

Fire crews were called out this morning (Monday, April 24) to a domestic fire in Exmouth.

Read more
Friday, April 21, 2017

Campaigners hoping to force a judicial review into the decision to cut hospital beds in Honiton have been told they have a ‘medium to strong’ case.

Read more
Monday, April 10, 2017

Mystery surrounds the history of an ‘imposing’ painting which fetched more than £5,000 at auction in Honiton.

Read more
Thursday, March 30, 2017

Police believe the alleged attempted abduction of a child in Honiton on Tuesday (March 28) didn’t happen.

Read more
Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Three fire appliances were called out this morning to deal with a fire in Broad Street following a call from a member of the public.

Read more
Saturday, February 4, 2017

Residents in Feniton have been targeted by mindless vandals, who spray-painted houses and vehicles.

Read more
Friday, February 3, 2017

Devon County Council has welcomed the Local Government Association’s (LGA) calls for powers to be given to tackle lorry drivers that flout height and weight restrictions.

Read more
Friday, January 27, 2017

The family of a popular Exmouth man who was killed in a serious collision on the A3052 near Seaton on Friday, January 20, have paid tribute.

Read more
Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Honiton’s mayor has expressed concerns about election costs following the resignation of three town councillors last month.

Read more
Tuesday, January 17, 2017

A Devon-based restaurant will become the first in 2017 to be given a top industry award.

Read more
Friday, January 13, 2017

Police have confirmed the identity of the two bodies found at a house in Dunkeswell as Michael and Nicola Beck.

Read more
Thursday, January 12, 2017

Devon’s fleet of gritters are out on the county’s precautionary salting network today (Thursday, January 12).

Read more
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

A severe weather warning for ice and snow has been issued for the South West by the MET Office.

Read more
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Public Health England (PHE) South West is reminding unvaccinated first year students to get immunised now against deadly meningococcal disease.

Read more
Friday, January 6, 2017

Police are treating the discovery of two bodies at a secluded house near Honiton as a domestic murder and suicide.

Read more
Friday, December 30, 2016

These pictures taken by an Exmouth man show what appears to be a UFO flying over the town this week.

Read more
Thursday, December 22, 2016

Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue have given advice on preventing fires in the kitchen this Christmas.

Read more
Monday, December 19, 2016

Three park and ride services will be merged from Tuesday, January 3, it has been announced.

Read more
Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Stagecoach South West has announced that, from Saturday (December 3), a new timetable will come into effect on the South West Falcon, connecting Devon and Somerset with Bristol Airport and Bristol City Centre.

Read more
Thursday, November 10, 2016

The NHS is urging pregnant women across East Devon to protect themselves and their unborn child by having the flu vaccination this winter.

Read more
Monday, October 31, 2016

Residents and traders in Exeter have been thanked by Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue for their support during the major fire in the city centre.

Read more
Monday, October 17, 2016

Finalists in the South West Chef of the Year are gearing up for the grand final next Monday (October 24).

Read more
Thursday, September 22, 2016

East Devon MP Hugo Swire has pledged his support for a proposal which would see Exmouth and Sidmouth retain their inpatient beds.

Read more
Thursday, September 1, 2016

Pets across East Devon now have a greater chance of surviving household fires, thanks to new oxygen masks specially designed for animals that are being carried on selected fire engines.

Read more
Thursday, September 1, 2016

The cost of parking in Topsham and Exeter is set to change after proposals for new car parking tariffs were introduced.

Read more
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Dark forces seem to have been at work after a road sign advertising a magical exhibition disappeared.

Read more
Wednesday, July 27, 2016

A coach company is appealing to reunite a wedding album with its rightful owner – ahead of what would be the couple’s 51st anniversary.

Read more
Monday, July 25, 2016

The organisers of a Race for Life event held in Exeter at the weekend have hailed the annual challenge a success.

Read more

Local Weather

Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 12°C

min temp: 6°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Local business directory

Honiton's trusted business finder

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications