Yesterday, 15:23

An intruder has admitted carrying out an attempted robbery at a village post office where he was driven off by a brave teenaged girl.

Read more
Mon, 09:45

Mark Priest’s body could not cope with the amount of alcohol he was drinking, an inquest heard.

Read more
Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Timothy Smeed Joy pleaded guilty to the bomb hoax - communicating false information when he appeared at Exeter Magistrates’ Court this morning (Tuesday).

Read more
Tuesday, February 13, 2018

An Axminster motorist charged with causing the death of a Honiton biker by careless or inconsiderate driving has appeared in court.

Read more
Saturday, February 10, 2018

Robert Lewis had changed his name twice during his life and had different National Insurance numbers for each which he used to carry out the swindle.

Read more
Friday, February 9, 2018

Keith Beviss went to the hall in Honiton armed with a knife and attacked a complete stranger who happened to be carrying out electrical work there.

Read more
Friday, February 2, 2018

A former teacher has been jailed for abusing two girl pupils in Seaton.

Read more
Tuesday, January 30, 2018

It was a near sell-out audience when I attended the Membury pantomime on opening night - Thursday, January 25.

Read more
Thursday, January 25, 2018

The Honiton Admiral Nurse campaign has had a good start to 2018, with a range fundraising events being lined up.

Read more
Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Exeter Magistrates’ Court heard the youth was ‘criminally exploited’.

Read more
Friday, January 19, 2018

Toni Sloman and teenager Micha both sustained fatal injuries when their vehicle collided with a van near Axminster in 2016.

Read more
Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Judge remands the 40-year-old remanded in custody pending psychiatric reports

Read more
Monday, January 8, 2018

Defendant pushed over his friend - breaking his elbow - after seeing him talking to his girlfriend

Read more
Thursday, December 28, 2017

Heidi Crook has been an Admiral Nurse since earlier this year, and she has already made a huge difference to families facing dementia in Sid Valley.

Read more
Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Lukas Boboic made five trips to the West Country and stole more than £100,000 worth of jewellery and cash from homes he broke into.

Read more
Monday, November 27, 2017

Frank and Elizabeth Wybrow recently celebrated their Diamond Wedding anniversary.

Read more
Monday, November 20, 2017

Jennifer Roberts, aged 67, from Plymtree near Honiton, was making a claim for damages against the mining equipment firm she worked for since she left school at 16.

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

Keith Beviss pleaded guilty to manslaughter on grounds of diminished responsibility when he appeared at Exeter Crown Court.

Read more
Monday, November 6, 2017

Daniel Loveday, aged 32, from West Sussex, appeared by video link from Lewes Prison and was not required to enter a plea.

Read more
Tuesday, September 26, 2017

The campaign to bring a much-needed Admiral Nurse to Honiton continues - Read Min Rennolds account of why she is involved in the campaign.

Read more
Sunday, September 17, 2017

The campaign to bring a much-needed Admiral Nurse to Honiton is getting off to an excellent start this week.

Read more
Friday, August 25, 2017

Hearing in Exeter told retired stockbroker Michael Beck bludgeoned his sleeping wife to death in Dunkeswell after she demanded a divorce.

Read more
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Luke Howard stole almost £10,000 worth of valuables from a cottage in Plymtree - but cut his hand as he broke a rear window to get in.

Read more
Friday, August 18, 2017

Scott Wilson repeatedly threatened to kill the victim as he subjected her to a two hour ordeal that only ended when she fled her home and took refuge with a neighbour.

Read more
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

A masked attacker has been jailed for stabbing a brave Seaton taxi driver who fought him off as he tried to snatch his takings.

Read more
Wednesday, May 3, 2017

A utility worker from Dalwood has been sent on a sex offender’s course after being caught with ‘abhorrent’ movies of young children suffering sexual torture.

Read more
Friday, April 21, 2017

A Honiton drug dealer has been jailed after police intercepted him delivering £2,685 worth of cannabis.

Read more
Tuesday, March 7, 2017

The South West Academy for Fine and Applied Arts was pleased to follow up its Charity Postcard Auction by presenting cheques to the Alzheimer’s Society and Home Start recently.

Read more
Saturday, January 28, 2017

Daring to paint a view well known to her audience, Axminster artist Lynda White proved her bravery twice over.

Read more
Friday, January 27, 2017

A Hallowe’en partygoer threatened a group of strangers with a screwdriver during a drunken confrontation in the early hours of the morning in the centre of Exeter.

Read more

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 3°C

min temp: -2°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Local business directory

Honiton's trusted business finder

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications