Organ recital to be performed in Lyme Regis

PUBLISHED: 17:00 08 February 2018

Alex Davies. Picture: contributed

Alex Davies. Picture: contributed

sub

Accomplished Dorset musician Alex Davies will be giving an organ recital with a difference on Monday, February 12, at St Michael’s Church, Lyme Regis.

Alex – musical director and organist at St Michael’s – will play a programme of music from the 20th and 21st centuries, giving listeners a chance to hear pieces that are rarely played on church organs in the region.

The highlight will be ‘Play it Cool’ by the contemporary Dutch composer Ad Wammes.

Written in 2012, this piece will take listeners on a journey of the imagination.

Alex will also be playing ‘Trivium’ by Arvo Pärt, ‘Master Tallis’s Testament’ by Herbert Howells and pieces by Messiaen, Reger and Dupré.

Starting at 5.45pm, the recital will last for about 45 minutes and is free of charge.

There will be a retiring collection in aid of the South Wessex Organ Society and the PFAs of St Michael’s and Woodroffe schools.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Other Entertainment Stories

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The dog show at the Axe Vale Show takes place on Saturday, June 23

Read more
Monday, June 11, 2018

Tuesday night date for the next Tuckers Jazz Club

Read more
Friday, June 8, 2018

St Peter’s Church, Dalwood will be hosting a flower festival from Friday, June 15 to Sunday, June 17.

Read more
Tuesday, June 5, 2018

The Beehive in Honiton always has plenty line for the month and June is no exception, writes Wendy van der Plank, of the Beehive team.

Read more
Monday, June 4, 2018

There will be plenty on offer to entertain visitors at this year’s Axe Vale Show.

Read more
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Axe Vale Orchestra performed at The Minster, Axminster, on Sunday, May 13. Anthony Palmer reviewed the concert.

Read more
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Lyme Regis Museum has announced a brand-new art exhibition which opens on Friday, June 1.

Read more
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Young dancers have been preparing a breathtaking performance to showcase their skills on a Sidmouth stage at the end of this month.

Read more

Local Weather

Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 18°C

min temp: 11°C

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Midweek Herald twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Local business directory

Honiton's trusted business finder

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications