Mon, 08:41

A busy East Devon road is partially blocked by granite and rubble.

Read more
Mon, 08:19

An accidental fire prompted an early morning call out for fire crews after a hay baler caught fire.

Read more
Mon, 08:16

A cyclist has died following a single vehicle road traffic incident near Colyton.

Read more
Friday, July 12, 2019

A dog had to be coaxed off a 40 foot cliff after becoming stuck near Branscombe.

Read more
Friday, July 12, 2019

A new 66-bed 'luxury' care home equipped with cinema room, hair salon and a restaurant on every floor has opened.

Read more
Thursday, July 11, 2019

The event is set to be bigger than ever before with five display teams.

Read more
Wednesday, July 10, 2019

It has been a long run but this weekend will be the last chance you can visit Coles.

Read more
Tuesday, July 9, 2019

A scheme aimed at making Ottery a dementia friendly town has taken its training sessions into the community.

Read more
Monday, July 8, 2019

Grateful scout leaders have thanked garden centre staff for helping relocate their new flower beds.

Read more
Sunday, July 7, 2019

See the hidden parts of Ottery St Mary Parish Church as part of an open day to celebrating the life of its founder.

Read more
Sunday, July 7, 2019

Sixth form students aspiring for places at the country's top universities have had a taste of what is to come with an 'inspirational' residential trip.

Read more
Saturday, July 6, 2019

Author Jeannie Wycherley's horror stories are inspired by the landscape of East Devon, which is perhaps not an idea that leaps to the mind of everyone.

Read more
East Devon Resident
Friday, July 5, 2019

Emergency services reported no serious injuries in an incident which shut the road in both directions.

Read more
Thursday, July 4, 2019

Four Elms Hill is blocked in both directions following an accident.

Read more
Thursday, July 4, 2019

The only traditionally-built replica Phoenician ship in the world has sailed into Lyme Regis, just weeks after it had to postpone its visit.

Read more
Tuesday, July 2, 2019

The RSPCA is appealing for information after a cat had its leg crushed by a trap.

Read more
Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Sidmouth Lifeboat were called into action after police received reports about a missing woman.

Read more
Thursday, June 20, 2019

Furious firefighters have slammed proposals which they say will 'cut front-line services to the bone'.

Read more
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Sneaky pixies have begun making their way into Ottery ahead of their invasion at the weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, June 4, 2019

New car parking charges have come into force across East Devon, with a number of sites seeing their prices double.

Read more
Saturday, June 1, 2019

Appeal for information following a three vehicle collision on Thursday.

Read more
Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Police are still searching for a wanted man who was thought to be in the Sidmouth or Cranbrook areas.

Read more
Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Video footage of a wallaby making its way through Ottery St Mary has emerged.

Read more
Saturday, May 18, 2019

Not stuck in the past, Sidford WI celebrates turning 100

Read more
East Devon Resident
Wednesday, May 15, 2019

A wallaby is reported to be on the loose in the Ottery St Mary area.

Read more
Devon
Thursday, May 2, 2019

A public meeting will be held to discuss the future of Honiton's 15th century church.

Read more
Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Investigations are underway following break-ins at two properties in Uplyme.

Read more
Friday, April 12, 2019

Emergency services were called out to the A30 after a three vehicle collision.

Read more
Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Sidmouth air display will be something visitors have 'never seen before' as not one, but four display teams will be jetting in this summer.

Read more
Tuesday, April 9, 2019

A 'mammoth' piece of prehistoric history, which has sat in a lunch box for more than a decade, has gone on display at Sidmouth Museum.

Read more

Local Weather

Heavy Rain

Heavy Rain

max temp: 20°C

min temp: 13°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Midweek Herald twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications