Axminster Town Council co-opts two new members

PUBLISHED: 21:54 13 June 2016 | UPDATED: 09:34 24 June 2016

Cllr Ian Hall who represents Axminster Rural on EDDC

Cllr Ian Hall who represents Axminster Rural on EDDC


Sara Leat and Ian Hall are elected to fill casual vacancies.

Two new members were co-opted on to Axminster town council tonight (Monday, June 13).

Former councillor Sara Leat was elected, in a secret ballot, to fill the vacancy on the town ward caused by the resignation of Chris Tipping. Unsuccessful candidates were Kathy Hackman, Philippa Purchase and Martin Spurway.

Elected to fill the vacancy on the Raynonds Hill Ward, caused by the resignation of Joy Raymond, was Ian Hall, who already serves on East Devon District Council. The unsuccessful candidate was Mike Featherstone.

Mayor Paul Hayward thanked all those who put their names forward and said he hoped the unsuccessful candidates would not be deterred from standing again in the future.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald