Beer team recognised for conservation efforts

Champions of the Jurassic Coast are honoured

CHAMPIONS of the Jurassic Coast – from Beer and Lyme Regis – have been honoured at a special ceremony.

A new award was launched last year to recognise people who have shown outstanding dedication to the conservation and enhancement of the Dorset and East Devon Coast World Heritage Site - whether professional, amateur or volunteer. The first Jurassic Coast Award has gone to Lyme Regis Coastguard Richard Edmonds, Earth Science Manager of the Jurassic Coast Team and former warden of the Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre.

A nominator said of Richard: “He has demonstrated a commitment and most significantly a fantastic enthusiasm for the World Heritage Site, the coastline and its geology and helped convey this to a wide range of people in a most enlightening manner.”

A joint award was also given to Norah Jaggers and Patricia Farrell, from the community group Beer Village Heritage.

Together with a dedicated local group of volunteers and the support of local fishermen, they have created a wonderful new building on the beach at Beer that enables thousands of visitors to find out more about the Jurassic Coast, the local marine world and the village’s history. Norah and Pat co-chair the management of the new centre.

A nominator said: “They continue to be instrumental in the improvement and continual development of the centre with its focus on our village’s place in the evolution of the Jurassic Coast together with information about the wider World Heritage Site area.”

Most Read

The winners received two individually sculptured awards made from 4-inch cubes of Purbeck stone inscribed with locations along the Jurassic Coast. They were created by the artist and sculptor Gary Breeze, with sponsorship from the Fine Family Foundation. The awards were presented by Sibyl King, Director of the Fine Family Foundation, and Professor Denys Brunsden.

Nominations for next year’s awards will open in September 2011. For more information about the award go to