Campaigner Claire Wright ousts council leader

Big turnout for rural seat on EDDC.

A CAMPAIGNER from West Hill scored a victory in today’s East Devon District Council (EDDC) elections for the Ottery St Mary Rural Ward- helping oust the authority’s leader.

Outgoing EDDC leader and Conservative candidate Sarah Randall Johnson (797 votes) this morning lost her seat.

Independent candidate Claire Wright, a leading figure in the Communities Before Developers protest group, netted 1,364 votes in the poll.

Conservative Tony Howard will also represent the ward after netting 822 votes.

Labour’s Judith Blackwell (263 votes) missed out.

A huge 62.3per cent of Ottery St Mary Rural Ward, which includes West Hill and Tipton St John, turned out to vote.

Most Read

OTTERY TOWN: Giles and Cox retain seats

ROGER Giles scored a landslide victory as David Cox also held on to his seat in district council elections for the Ottery St Mary Town Ward.

Independent candidate Mr Giles gained a whopping 1,546 votes.

Conservative Mr Cox retained his seat with 628 votes.

Labour’s Andrew Blackwell missed out with 417 votes.

A turnout of 50.4per cent was recorded.