East Devon carnival dates confirmed for 2017

PUBLISHED: 17:00 01 April 2017

Carnival chairman Bill Austin.

Carnival chairman Bill Austin.

Archant

Honiton Carnival committee has a new chairman after Grant Miller stepped down from the role on Sunday, March 19.

Bill Austin will now chair the committee, with Karen Wilson staying on as secretary and Kirsty Lack taking over the role of treasurer, with Jenny Allen stepping down.

Emily Miller will be taking on the sponsor liaison role, with president Myrtle Harris relinquishing the position.

A spokesman for the committee said: “We would like to thank all the sponsors that supported us in 2016.

“If anybody would like to be a sponsor, please contact Emily on 01404 46965.”

The committee is also preparing for two fundraising events, with a Spring Fayre planned for Easter Saturday (April 15), in the Mackarness Hall, from 9am to 12.30pm.

There will also be a variety show night on Friday, June 2 in the Mackarness Hall, at 7pm.

Tickets are £8 for adults and £4 for children, which are available from Honiton Toy Shop or Emily on 01404 46965. The MC for the event will be Max Pipe.

The East Devon Carnival also held its AGM on the same evening and confimred the dates for this year’s East Devon Circuit.

The carnival dates for 2017 are as follows:

Saturday, September 2, Seaton; Saturday, September 9, Colyton; Saturday, September 16, Axminster; Saturday, September 23, Sidmouth; Saturday, September 30, Budleigh Salterton; Saturday, October 14, Exmouth; Saturday, October 21, Ottery St Mary and Saturday, October 28, Honiton.

The East Devon Carnival committee is planning two festive processions, with the first on Friday, December 1, in Seaton, and the second on Saturday, December 2, in Honiton.


If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Midweek Herald