East Devon District Council: new chairman voted in

PUBLISHED: 09:06 22 May 2017

Councillor Andrew Moulding has been voted in as EDDC chairman.

Councillor Andrew Moulding has been voted in as EDDC chairman.


TWO councillors have been handed high-ranking positions on the district council.

Long-serving Axminster Councillor, Andrew Moulding was appointed East Devon District Council’s chairman while Honiton councillor Phil Twiss was made the deputy leader at the authority’s annual meeting on Monday.

Sidmouth councillor Stuart Hughes passed over his chairman chains after two years in the post and congratulated Cllr Moulding, who has been Devon County Council’s chairman for the last year.

Cllr Moulding, who has been a councillor for 30 years, said: “I have the great pleasure of thanking all those who have put me in this position. This is a very proud moment.”

Honiton’s David Key won a vote as the authority’s vice chairman against Axminster Councillor Douglas Hull.

Cllr Key said: “I will do my best to support the chairman and up hold the integrity of the council in these very changing and challenging times.”

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Midweek Herald