Lib Dem: ‘We will try to keep our promises’

Derek Button makes vow following election win.

In the Broadclyst Ward, Lib Dem Derek Button vowed “we will try to keep our promises” after being elected with 975 votes.

Conservative Peter Bowden (907 votes) also took a seat.

Conservative Karl Busch (679 votes) and Lib Dem Stephen Schlich (584 votes) missed out. There was a 49per cent turnout in the ward.

The Coly Valley saw a 59.5per cent turnout. Conservative Helen Parr bagged a seat and 1,225 votes. Conservative Graham Godbeer was also elected with 1,045 votes. Independent candidates Paul Arnott (646 votes) and Margaret Smith (545 votes) missed out along with UKIP’s Alec Yates (331 votes). There was a 59.5per cent turnout in the ward

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter