Election 2011: Shock result in Axminster

Mayor Ron Jones loses his seat

THE Mayor of Axminster, Ron Jones, has failed to win re-election to the town council.

Mr Jones polled the second lowest number of votes, 287, during last Thursday’s poll.

Reginald Brown and Martin Spurway also failed to gain seats on the council.

Douglas Hull, the father of the council, attracted the most votes, 1,063.

Others elected were: Graham Godbeer (593), Paul Hayward, 339, John Jeffery, 780, Sara Leat, 350, Andrew Moulding, 898, Chris Scott, 320, John Stevenson, 360, Mervyn Symes, 546, and Jeremy Walden, 434.