Who will represent Cranbrook on East Devon district council?


Cranbrook - Credit: Archant

For the first time, Cranbrook will have three seats on East Devon District Council, and the successful candidates will be announced later at today’s election count.

This year’s local elections are particularly significant for Cranbrook. For the first time, it will have three seats on East Devon District Council.

The polls closed at 10pm on Thursday (May 2) and the count will take place in Honiton throughout Friday. Follow all the results as they come in on the Midweek Herald website.

Since the last district council elections, the ward boundaries have been changed to make sure each district councillor represents roughly the same number of voters. This meant re-drawing the boundary map to take into account the population of Cranbrook.

Seven candidates are standing for the three seats; four of them are existing Cranbrook Town councillors. Kevin Blakey, Kim Bloxham and Sam Hawkins are standing as Independents; Matt Osborn is a Conservative.

Also standing as a Conservative is Nick Partridge; Pauline Garbutt represents the Liberal Democrats and Sue Mills is Labour.

Cranbrook residents went to the polls yesterday to vote for whoever they want to represent their interests on the district council. The elected councillors will be able to have a say on issues affecting Cranbrook and the wider area, including decisions on planning, housing and licensing.