Long-serving councillors lose their seats at Lyme

Lyme Regis Town Council election results.

THREE long-serving councillors failed to gain re-election to Lyme Regis Town Council.

Ken Whetlor and brother’s Stanley and Peter Williams lost their seats in last week’s local election.

Independent candidate Lucy Campbell received the majority of support gaining 827 votes followed by Michaela Ellis with 806.

Others elected to serve on the town council (according to the latest results sheet provided by West Dorset District Council) include Barbara Austin, 705, Ann Bradbury, 490, Christopher Clipson, 487, Mark Gage, 554, Sally Holman, 699, R Austin, 682, Hazel Jenkin, 722, Owen Lovell, 689, Terrence O’Grady, 652, George Symonds, 737, Daryl Turner, 796, and Anita Williams, 523.

Due to the unacceptable state of the district council’s initial results sheet, we have been unable to publish the results any sooner.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter