RESULTS: East Devon Carnival Circuit

Sidvale CC wins best overall. Axminster YFC wins the comedy class.

Twenty-four trophies were handed out last Friday when Ottery St Mary Carnival Committee hosted the circuit presentation night at The Institute.


Top Award: “East Devon Carnival Trophy” (awarded to the entry with the most points gained on the circuit): Sidvale Carnival Club (Sidford) - Jokers

Open Class “The Bob Newberry Cup”: Sidvale Carnival Club (Sidford) -Jokers; Runners-up: Peter Perry Man Cup – not won

You may also want to watch:

Royal Queens: “The Elizabeth Svendsen Shield”: Ottery St Mary CC – Starry Eyed; Runners-up will receive “The East Devon Shield”: Topsham CC – Snow Angels

30ft and under: “The Beavis Paver Cup”: The Muckslingers Carnival Club (HAwliscombe) – Harry Potter Goes GaGa; Runners-up: “The Hazel Parsons Memorial Shield” Ottery St Mary VSU Club – Ocean Venture.

Most Read

Youth Class: “Seaton and District Lions Club Carnival Youth Trophy”: South Brent Carnival Club – Snowtime; Runners-up: “Mr and Mrs Salter Trophy”: Tango Carnival Club (Sidmouth) – Christmas Rock/Roll

Comedy Class: “The Lord Jeff Memorial Trophy”: Axminster YFC – That’s A Bit Irish; Runners-up: “The Station Garage Trophy”: Nunsford Carnival Club (Colyton) – I’m a nutter get me out of here.

Non-motorised – walking with props: “The East Devon Carnival Non-Motorised Trophy”: Cooke CC (South Brent) – The Bearded Pearl

Motorised walking with props: “The East Devon Motorised Trophy” Boogie Bass Bugs (Honiton) – Bodacious

Most Colourful entry “The Midweek Herald Trophy”: Sidvale Carnival Club – Jokers

Best Costumes and make-up: “The Maureen Harding Memorial Trophy” A&A Carnival Club (Kilmington) – Skullduggery

East Devon Circuit Queens: “The East Devon Rose Bowl”: Ottery St Mary Carnival Committee – Starry Eyed AND Seaton Carnival Committee – Queen of Hearts (Joint Winners)

Walking Single: “The Sidvale Carnival Trophy” Jodie Bea Mitchell (Kingsbridge) – Secret Garden; Runners-up: “The East Devon Single Masquerader Trophy”: A&A CC (Kilmington) – Nigel Phillips – Skullduggery

Walking Pairs: “The Fred pears Memorial Cup”: Excalibar CC (Topsham) – Enchanted; Runners-Up: “The East Devon Pairs Runners-Up Trophy”: Jess & Rosa Batten-Stevens – Dance of the Dragon

Walking Groups (3 or more) “The Hillside Garage Honiton Trophy”: Marchant CC (Sidbury) – Joking Jesters

The Most Improved: “The East Devon Special Awards Trophy”: Seaton CC – Queen of Hearts

Walking single Junior “The East Devon Single Masquerader Award”: Lauren Pearcy (Ottery St Mary) – It’s Snow Wonder

Best Overall Walking Entry: “The Jim Harding Memorial Cup”: Excalibar CC (Topsham) Enchanted.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter