Seaton carnival prospers despite economic downturn

Rise in takings is a “fantastic effort” in the current financial climate says chairman

CARNIVAL profits at Seaton were up this year – despite the general economic gloom.

Chairman and procession organiser, June Millman told the annual general meeting that it had been a “fantastic achievement” in the current financial climate.

She said the increase on last year had come thanks to higher income and an effort by the committee to reduce running costs.

Some �3,815 was raised, which included donations of �1,659.60 and a street collection of �2,156.32.

As a result, donations were made to a number of local organisations who had helped the carnival committee.

These were Seaton Club for the Visually Impaired, The British Legion, St John’s Ambulance, Seaton Brownies, Seaton Youth Football Club, Seaton Majorettes, Seaton Drama Group, Seaton Scouts, Seaton Fire Brigade, Seaton Beavers, Seaton Guides, Mrs Bellini’s Swimming Club, Police Compassionate Fund, Memory Club, and Seaton Cubs.

Most Read

The carnival committee also donated throughout the year to the refurbishment of the town clock, the town bunting and Seaton in Bloom.

Mrs Millman added that other charities are welcome to apply for a donation in the future which will then be considered by the committee.

She also thanked everyone who helped to make the carnival so successful and enjoyable.

She congratulated the float committee of Jenni West-Broom, Wayne Broom and Fred Paulley and Roger Broom who constructed a themed float called “Hollywood” which was very successful in the East Devon Circuit. She thanked Keith Sweetland for proving the vehicle to pull the float.

Thanks also went to Angela Broom who ensured that the carnival queen and her attendants were ready for each outing, as well as being co-ordinator for the committee.

Marie Churchill was praised for producing the improved carnival programme, as were Roger Broom, Kevin Frost and Dave Jones who completed a training course to marshal and close roads as required.

Others thanked included Dennis and Hilda Morgan for organising the judges and John and Ann, for organising the collecting boxes, Terry Burrows for the tasty supper,

president Roger Woolland, Peter and Terry Burrows, Rosemary Partridge-Hogbin, Vic Raskin and June and Kevin Frost.