The sun shone, the air was autumn fresh and the conditions were perfect for running the ColyTEN trail event.

The 10-mile race was hosted by Axe Valley Runners with the headquarters at the Colyton Football Club. Superbly organised by runners for runners; well explained, marked with supportive marshals and water stations along the route.

The route was along the river Coly, including a river crossing, boggy fields, through scenic but challenging woodlands with sections contouring treelines, flowing undulating ascents and descents with a few sharp surprising steep climbs.

Five Honiton Running Club members enjoyed the race. First back for the club in 1 hour 23 mins was Johnny Bennett, who paced himself very well, coming 26th overall. Mark Dallyn followed close behind after an impressive tumble but he recovered well, crossing the line in 45th place in a time of 1: 29.

Paula Ferris and Rebecca Stevens ran together over the whole course, finishing strongly in 92nd & 93rd with a very respectable time of 1:39. Richard Jarman completed the line up with an impressive 1:41 in position 103rd and was really pleased enjoying the whole run. 235 runners enjoyed the course with the winner Samuel Kelly of Exmouth Harriers taking 1st place in a time of 1:01. Huge thanks to Karen Eyre, Rob Collier and their team for a very tough but enjoyable and friendly event.

Meanwhile, several HRC members opted to go further afield and travelled to Dorset to take part in the annual Studland Stampede 12k Race. Starting and finishing on the beach, the route takes runners along Studland Heath before the energy sapping sand dunes and a final 2k run along the beach to the finish.

Mark Newson was first back for Honiton finishing in 102nd place in 1.01.22. Howard Bidmead was next back finishing in 111th place in 1.02.41. Howard just managed to overtake Tom Bornet on the beach running to the finish. Tom finished in 115th place in 1.03.02. Clare Melbourne was next, finishing in 205th position in 1.10.47 and then Janice Newson finished in 284th place in 1.18.54. There were 406 finishers and the race was won by Jacek Cieluszecki from Bournemouth AC in 42.44.