The Seniors at Axe Cliff Golf Club have now voted in their new Captain, retired local businessman Richard Gibbons, and his new Vice Captain Richard Chambers. Bill Polley remains our Treasurer alongside Fixtures Secretary Leighton Morgan and Handicap Secretary Chris Read, writes Dave Bruce.

One of the last events for outgoing Captain, Steve Thompson, was the presentation of trophies and mementoes for all of our 30 winners of 2023.

Before the presentation, we had a Shotgun Stableford and a lovely dry but cold day enjoyed by all who took part, especially the winner John Purdy with a fine score of 40 points, beating Bill Dearling on countback, with steady Stuart Mackie in third on 38.

Steve then presented the winners with their trophies and engraved whisky glass mementoes in the order that they were won throughout the year, finishing with his own chosen Player of the Year and Clubman of the Year. 

Player of the year was Dave Morgan, who had his name on four trophies and was also successful on a number of medals and stablefords. Chris Read was Steve's Clubman of the year for all his hard work in keeping everyone advised of the weekly competitions and his help to Steve in their organisation.

Special mention went to Nigel Pritchard for winning ‘The Masters Trophy’, probably the most difficult competition to win, being four consecutive Medal Rounds. New Captain Richard thanked Steve for his excellent year, which was warmly applauded and appreciated by all present.

The Men's Section saw some great scores in their first Monthly Medal of 2024. Dan Taylor had an amazing nett 65 to win Division 1, closely followed by Mike Cottam with a 67 and Club Manager Alex Taylor kept up his good form by coming third with a 70.

Excellent scoring was also seen in Division 2 won by Chris Glover with 68. Paul Cordwell was 2nd with 69 and third spot went to former head greenkeeper Andy Gabb with 70.  The first competition of 2024 was closely fought and won by Mark Winterbottom, who is now the new ‘Hangover Champion’.