93 drivers in championship event

PUBLISHED: 16:06 11 November 2009 | UPDATED: 00:32 16 June 2010

With a few titles already in the bag, some drivers dropped out of the final round of the 2009 Dunkeswell Kart Racing Club Championship, leaving 93 to make the most of the unseasonal warm and dry October weather.

With a few titles already in the bag, some drivers dropped out of the final round of the 2009 Dunkeswell Kart Racing Club Championship, leaving 93 to make the most of the unseasonal warm and dry October weather.

First up were the cadet heats, and Izaac Channing and Connor Hall battled it out with Channing taking two wins to Hall's one. James Chubb had a strong showing with a second and third place in heats 2 and 3. Kyle Petricca scored a solid third place in heat 1.

In the MiniMax heats, a major title battle was raging as the three main protagonists fought for vital championship points with the added difficulty of non championship contender Sam Marsh stealing points from all three.

Marsh took wins in heats 1 and 3, leaving Sam Morgan to take the win in heat 2. Will Maslin and championship leader Mac Austin fought for the remaining spoils with Austin boosting his chances with three third places to Maslin's single second place.

With the Junior Rotax title already won by Connor Hardiman, who had decided not to contest the round, the door was left wide open for Jack Drinkall to stamp his authority back on the class. Heat 1 was won by Cody Tree, who led from pole, but Drinkall made his intentions public by cutting through the field to finish 6th and convincingly take the wins in heats 2 and 3.

In the Senior Rotax Class, both Jensen and Haworth were sitting out the round and Adam Murphy was on the pace to take two wins and a 2nd place. Gemma Batstone was also on form with a strong second and third place in heats 3 and 2 respectively. Sitting 3rd in the championship, Charlie Robinson cemented his position with a win and a second place. Colin Davis and Stewart Baker, both fighting for the 177 Championship, showed their worth with Davis taking two wins to Baker's one, with Baker claiming a second place as well. Behind them, but showing excellent consistency, was Matt Isgrove who scored three consecutive 3rd places. The Plain brothers, Chris Morris and Chris Kendall all took valuable points. Lee Plain took two wins with Kendall taking heat 3. There was a major drama in heat 3 as Morris got tangled in a mid corner shunt on Pit Bend which left him with a suspected broken ankle.

The finals were hard fought affairs across the classes as everyone wanted to make the most of the last race of the season.

Cadet Izaac Channing was untroubled as he led from lights to flag and took the Libre cadet championship. Behind him Connor Hall fought back to take second on the last lap. Charlie Harris rounded off a good season with third. The MiniMax final was again dominated by Sam Marsh who, like Channing in the cadets, was untroubled and led from the lights to take a well deserved victory. Behind him and battling for the championship were Morgan, Austin and Maslin, who finished in that order.

In the end, Austin secured enough points to take the title, with Maslin second and Morgan third.

The final of the Junior Rotax class was won convincingly by Drinkall, who pulled clear of the chasing pack with Tree coming in second and Levi Coombes taking the final place on the podium.

In the Senior Rotax, Adam Murphy and Charlie Robertson fought it out with Murphy snatching it.

Gemma Batstone, struggling for grip, dropped to fifth, allowing Dan Wells through to take third place.

In the 177 class, there was a straight battle between Davis and Baker. In the end Davis slipped through on lap 10 and held it to take the flag. Baker took second but claimed the 2009 championship, with Matt Isgrove rounding off a great weekend with his fourth third place of the day.

Finally, the 250s, minus Morris, took to the circuit for the last time this season. Lee Plain capitalised at the start to squeeze through on the inside to take the lead which he would keep to the flag and secure the 2009 250 Gearbox championship title. Behind him, Kendall and Luke Plain moved up through the pack to cross the line 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Despite not being able to compete in the final, Morris had secured enough points for second in the championship from the back of the ambulance!

Final standings: Libre Cadet - 1, 22, Izaac Channing, Zip, 2009 Champion; 2, 44 Connor Hall, Zip, 2009 Vice Champion: 3, 35 Charlie Harris. Rotax MiniMax - 1, Sam Marsh Storm/Tony; 2, 21 Sam Morgan, Alonso; 3, 36 Mac Austin, Maranello, 2009 Champion. Junior Rotax - 1, 77 Jack Drinkall, Tony; 2, 71 Cody Tree, Tony; 3, 99 Levi Coombs, Tony; Senior Rotax - 1, 23 Adam Murphy, Kosmic; 2, 32 Charlie Robertson Wright; 3, 16 Dan Wells Wright; Rotax 177 - 1, 71 Colin Davies, Redspeed 2009 Vice Champion; 2, 95 Stewart Baker, Redspeed 2009 Champion; 3, 25 Matthew Isgrove, Redspeed; 250N Gearbox - 1, 46 Lee Plain, Jade, 2009 Champion; 2, 77 Chris Kendall, Jade; 3, 99 Luke Plain, Anderson.

By Jim Bee

Dunkeswell Kart Racing Club

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Most Read

Latest from the Midweek Herald