AVR James Green runs into third spot finish at 2018 Bicton Blister

PUBLISHED: 18:12 26 November 2018 | UPDATED: 18:12 26 November 2018

AVR and Honiton Running Club members at the Bicton Blister. Picture CONTRIBUTED

AVR and Honiton Running Club members at the Bicton Blister. Picture CONTRIBUTED


After a dose of rain during the previous days, it was expected the Bicton Blister course would be wet, muddy and slippery, writes Dave Mutter.

Surprisingly, the mostly pebble heaths were in very good condition and with fair weather a great race and much AVR success ensued.

Once again, James Green was third out of 424 in a time of 1:02:50 and, along with Matt Clist, fifth, 1:04:52; Robert Collier, 18th, second M45, 1:08:41 and Terry Emmett, 20th, 1:08:59, came second in the male team event. Eleanor Wood, 109th first F60, 1:23:25; Adele Foxwell, 115th, 1:23:50 and Kerry Board, 172nd, 1:29:24, came third in the ladies’ team event.

There were many other great AVR times, as follows: Matt Hewer, 23rd, second M40, 1:09:48; Emma Kiernan, 69th, 1:17:43; Chris Polly, 94th, 1:21:17; Graham Newton, 121st, third M65, 1:24:15; Richard Hale, 191st, 1:31:43; Ron Seward, 218th, 1:34:40; Angela Kerr, 260th, third F60, 1:39:34; Paul Tolchard, 268th, 1:40:27; Dave Mutter, 316th, 1:48:31; Linda Butterworth, 317th, 1:48:32; Julia Mallon, 318th, 1:48:44; Sarah Herfet, 324th, 1:49:35; Bec Davey, 325th, 1:49:57; Anna McLoughlin, 331st, 1:50:39; Rachael Tattershall, 377th, 1:57:43; Susie Sadler, 382nd, 1:59:15; Martin Kerr, 383rd, 2:00:13; Carolyn Nation, 396th, 2:04:04 and Diane Newton, 403rd, 2:05:17.

Young Sam Eyre ran very well in the associated five-mile Bicton Lite race, finishing fifth out of 99 in 34:58. Kirsty Farrington was 43rd, 51:16; Lesley Adams 50th, 52:14; Denise Burges 81st, 1:00:25 and Pam Goddard 83rd, 1:00:34. Well done, to Exmouth Harriers for putting on another superb event.

● Pure Endurance Triathlete Ritchie Durrant ran his first Parkrun and won the Seaton event in a time of 18:12.

Next home was Adam Hennessey of Honiton RC, 18:28 and James Glennie, 19:14. Polly Dixon was the first lady in 21:52 followed by Honiton RC’s Emilie Tones, 22:25 and Joanna Hawkins, third, 24:05.

Meanwhile, Patrick Devine-Wright enjoyed the wet and mucky conditions at the Killerton Parkrun, winning it in 18:17.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald