AVR Presentation Evening proves a big hit

PUBLISHED: 21:18 10 December 2014 | UPDATED: 21:18 10 December 2014

The prize winners at the AVR annual presentation dinner held at the Dolphin Hotel

The prize winners at the AVR annual presentation dinner held at the Dolphin Hotel


The 2014 AVR annual dinner presentation evening was held at the Dolphin Hotel, Beer and the evening was given a prestigious start with Father Christmas in his sleigh being towed down Fore Street by two live reindeers, writes Dave Mutter.

Steve Maclure romped away in the handicap winning with 155 points ahead of Amie Sibley, 134 and Ian Apps, 122.

Other awards were more of a jack-in-the-box affair, with all nominees standing, then clues were given and people sat down resulting in only the winner standing. Great Fun! The Unfortunate Runner winner was Amie Sibley as injury ended her unprecedented streak of three handicap wins in a row. Pat Kinsella and Patrick Devine-Wright shared the President’s trophy, Pat for running the eight classic New Zealand walks and one classic kayak in nine days - the first time it’s been done. Patrick for setting new records for the 40-mile East Devon Way, 70-mile East Devon Round and coming second in the 100-mile Cotswold Way race.

The New Member award was shared by all the Hill family, Chris Yvette and Cameron for the way they have all taken to running.

The Team award was also shared with Lesley Adams and Jane Bennett for their Thursday morning training group and the Yorkshire Three Peaks gang. Keith Agland was the Most Improved male with Yvette Hill the Most Improved female. Eleanor Wood was the Female Runner of the Year for he continued fantastic race performance and Graham Newton the Male Runner of The Year as he’s had an excellent year of repeatedly knocking his marathon PB down at an age when he really ought to be getting slower. Phil Bayliss won the Founder’s Shield for putting so much effort into the really flourishing junior section. The Club Person of the year award was shared between Gill Day and Janet Woodward for enthusiastically providing an encouraging atmosphere for the slower runners. Jonathan Day was rewarded with the Chairman’s Shield for all his hard work over the year.

Bottles of wine were awarded to Debbie Barry, Rick Wood, Dave Thomas, Dave Mutter and Sandra Porter for their work throughout the year.

After the main awards were presented, Dave Mutter proceeded to hand out a series of rather dubious ‘Alternative Awards’ to the mirth of those not receiving them.

It most a most agreeable evening organised by Debbie Barry and everyone is now looking forward to another great running year in 2015.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald