AVR run to glory at Castle Drogo 10-mile cross-country race

AVR trophy winners at Castle Drogo

AVR trophy winners at Castle Drogo - Credit: Archant

The Teign Valley was looking gorge-ous on Sunday morning as runners from all over the county and beyond arrived at Castle Drogo for the annual 10-mile cross-country race, writes Chris Keefe.

Bedecked in autumn colours, the course was in good condition with firm ground making for fast times.

Eleven Axe Valley Runners completed the course, with honours going to Jake Smith, who put in an exceptional performance to take victory and relegate Ceri Rees, a previous winner, to second place with a time of 58.44.

With Patrick Devine-Wright and Matt Clist working well together to finish seventh and eighth, with times of 1.05.52 and 1.06.26 respectively, the men also took the team prize, with Eleanor Wood putting in a great run to finish fifth female, first vet 55 in a time of 1.25.32 and Patrick Devine-Wright taking the first vet 45 prize.

Other AVR performances where Terry Emmett, 16th 1.10.18, Mike Clark, 64th 1.22.14, Mat Hewer, 69th 1.23.11, Tim Sibley, 75th 1.23.47, Steve Haines, 119th 1.30.04, Kelly Stamp, 181st 1.40.09 and Anders Larsson, 191st 1.42.37.

You may also want to watch:

There was also weekend action for some other AVR members with Amy Greenhalgh finishing as first lady in the 7.5-mile Gilly Hilly in Gillingham, coming in 12th overall in 50 minutes 32 seconds.

Meanwhile, Garry Perratt returned to racing at the Killerton Parkrun on Sunday. He finished the off-road, undulating 5k(ish) course in a time of 18:58, finishing in 10th place overall and first M50.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus