Axe Cliff Winter league success for Alan Kenworthy

Margaret Kenchington is presented with the competition cup after the success of the captains team in

Margaret Kenchington is presented with the competition cup after the success of the captains team in the annual meeting with the secretarys team. The presentation is being made by Diana Rogers, section secretary. - Credit: Archant

The Axe Cliff Winter League champion for this year is Alan Kenworthy, writes Pete Moston.

That’s the outcome of another splendid campaign, brought to an end by the playing of the 10th – and final – round of the league.

It was played in Medford format over the front nine and Stableford over the back nine.

The winner of the meeting was Paul Clode with 15 points and Ian Branston, 18 points, took second with third place, also with 18 points, going to Anthony Hellier.

There were four twos scored by Ian Steve Anning, Stuart Mackie, Paul Curtin and Ian Burraston.

You may also want to watch:

With Kenworthy crowned Winter League champion, the minor places went to Paul Curtin (second) and Ian Burraston (third).

Meanwhile, the Axe Cliff ladies contested the annual, ‘captain versus secretary’ match. This saw six teams playing with some terrific – and competitive - golf on show.

Most Read

The match was eventually won by the captain’s team that comprised of Margaret Kenchington, Anne Jarvis and Jill Wellington. The runners-up were the secretary’s team of Stella Thompson, Barbara Cummings and Janet Dack.

The competition cup was presented to the captain’s team captain, Margaret Kenchington, by the section secretary, Diana Rogers.

The ladies’ captain later presented section secretary Diana Rogers with a signed card and a Spring plant to mark the occasion of Diana’s 50 years membership of Axe Cliff Golf Club. Congratulations from everyone at the club to you Diana.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus