Axe Valley Runners annual awards and December programme

The Brooks Devon Cross Country Championships were held recently at the Exeter Arena and AVR had four junior competitors. The youngest was Max Bowskill who entered the 11 and under run (1650m) and came 17th out of 25. Harry Felgate was 16th in the boy’s 3K race in 11:18. Layla Felgate and Lydia Clapp were both in the 3.9K girls U15 event; Layla was fourth in 16:34 and Lydia eighth, 17:36. Congratulations to all the runners.

?Andrew Watson and Jack Vindean were the first two home in the final frosty AVR handicap of the year, but had not run enough to count, so the winner was Josh Coates, with Max Bowskill second, James Knapp third, Mollie Hansford fourth and James Hansford fifth.

Alison Bowskill was the Senior winner in a new PB of 28:45, followed by Clare Hansford, 27:27 and Alison Gould, 31:01. Graham Vere was fourth in a new PB of 26:01 and Pete Hughes fifth, 26:38.

As a result of this race, Chris Irving was the senior handicap winner for 2010 with 130 points. Alison Gould and Clare Hansford tied with 124 points, but Alison had a higher overall total and was pronounced second, with Clare third. Graham Vere’s late charge gave him 4th spot with 116 and Dave Mutter was relegated to 5th, 113 points.

?The annual AVR dinner and awards were held at the Dolphin Hotel in Beer.

You may also want to watch:

After a sumptuous meal, Chairman Garry Perratt presented the awards, first to the handicap winners as above, then the Founder’s Trophy that went to Jon and Gill Day for their organisational skills.

The Derby and County AC shield for the Most Improved Runner was won by Gavin Warren. Alex Todd was the Best New Member, while Diane Newton won the Unfortunate Sole award for losing both trainers, but still finishing the Poltimore Pootle race.

Most Read

The President’s Shied went to Geoff Woodward and Steve Reynolds for running five marathons in five days for a forces charity. The team award went to the Paris marathon gang, a record number of 16 AVR finishers at any marathon. The Female Runner of the Year was Eleanor Wood and Alex Todd wrong the Male Runner of the Year.

The Club Person(s) were Paul Johns and Phil Bayliss for their dedicated work with the junior section. Chris Irving won the Chairman’s Shield and the club London Marathon places were won by Tim Sibley and Gill Day.

After the awards Garry was presented with honorary membership of AVR for all of his work as chairman and before.

Then followed a number of dubious alternative awards presented by Dave Mutter and finally a raffle by Paul Morgan for Children In Need that raised over �130. Some training then ensued in the form of dancing to the brilliant Barry’s - a great end to a superb evening for the merry AVR throng.

?Three AVRs were among the seven runners who did a 20-mile circuit on Dartmoor on Saturday morning. Garry Perratt, Phil Bayliss and Alex Todd were joined by Charmouth’s Gordon Hathway, Tiverton Harrier Chris Gill and Maiden Newton Runners Lin & Martin Lascelles. The merry band left Sticklepath’s Taw River Inn, ran along the river to Belstone then up into the clag and over to Yes Tor and High Willhays, the highest points on the moor. They then proceeded to Okement Hill, Hangingstone Hill and Steeperton Tor before performing various rites around a small stone circle. Hound Tor and Cosdon Hill were the last two peaks before the gang finally descended out of the cloud back to the river and on to the pub where they met Dave Kelf who had done his own shorter circuit to view the Nine Maidens standing stones. All enjoyed some well-deserved sustenance of both liquid and solid natures to round off a fantastic morning’s running.

?What’s Ahead For AVR

Fri Dec 17 Beginners and Improvers joint Christmas lights and refreshments run starting at Seaton Tramway car park 6.30pm; Sat Dec 18 Midwinter dream 17 mile from Hook and Parrot at 6pm; Sun Dec 19, Wellington Monument 10K race, Hemyock start 10.30am; Mon Dec 20, main club xmas run to Beer with beer; Wed Dec 22, Improvers 6.30pm at tramway car park for a treasure hunt with no treasure!

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus