Axminster four-wood indoor titles for Doug Looskan and Margaret Crompton


Bowls - Credit: Archant

Axminster indoor bowlers completed another season with the club finals weekend, writes David Harris.

The men’s four-wood singles was won by Doug Looskan, with Malcolm Denslow as the runner-up.

In the ladies’ four-wood singles, Margaret Crompton took the honours with Gill Campbell the runner-up.

The men’s four-wood drawn pairs saw success for Malcolm Denslow and Norman Denslow, who defeated Reg Crouch and Mike Knight in the final.

The ladies’ four-wood drawn pairs ended in victory for Valerie Mellor and Margaret Brown, who defeated Margaret Crompton and Brenda Edwards in the final.

You may also want to watch:

Ann Clayton won the David Crompton Vase, defeating Mick Henneghan in the final while the Open Pairs final was won by Brian Clark and Valerie Mellor with the runners-up being Alfie Day and Said Milburn.

In the ladies’ invitation competition, the winners were the pairing of Phil White and David Harris and the runners-up were Margaret Crompton and Keith Jolley.

Most Read

Last, but certainly not least, the Non-Winners Cup was won by Adam Dredge with the runner-up being Brian Cursley.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus