Brilliant par run secures McClymont Cup for Carnall

Honiton Golf Club Professional Adrian Cave and McClymont Cup Winner Dave Carnall

Honiton Golf Club Professional Adrian Cave and McClymont Cup Winner Dave Carnall - Credit: Honiton GC

Dave Carnall won the 36-hole McClymont Cup medal competition at Honiton Golf Club with a nett total of 129.   

After Round One, Carnall was a shot behind leader Tony Notman, who shot 64, with Carnall on 65, followed by Julian Netherway 66 and Derek Keen 67.   

It was Keen who pushed Carnall the most with a second round 65, giving Keen a two-round total of 132. Carnall then shot a 64, parring the last 12 holes to hold on and win by three shots. Final totals were Carnall 129, Keen 132 and Netherway 137. 

The Men’s Palairet team lost in the second round to Dainton Park 3/2, with two Honiton pairings losing on the last hole, it was a bit harsh on the team. Winning pairs were David Drury / Matt Bond and Mark Whitcombe / Mike Abraham. 

The Tuesday Mixed format this week was a Fun Pairs Betterball. There were two pairs with exceptional scores but it was Caroline Bond and Roger Edwards who took first place honours with an impressive 53 points. Only one point behind with 52 were Georgie Hope-Edwards and Steve Bond. Third place, with 46 points, went to Maggie and John Harvey. 

In the ladies Medal competition Division One, Sally Drawbridge came in with a nett 70 score followed by Janet Hughes with a 73. In Division Two, Caroline Bond took first place with a nett 74 and Sharon Rouse second with 77 and Cathy Williams third with 78. The ladies also played in a 9-hole competition and Diane Rider took the winning spot with a nett 33.  

In the Annodata National Golf match-play competition, Honiton ladies played Woodbury ladies and won 4/1. In the Sheelah Creasy match-play, the ladies beat the Libbaton ladies 6/1. 

Most Read

64 Seniors competed for the 'Green Jersey' in this week’s Stableford Competition. The winner receives a green Honiton Golf Club jersey and that honour went to Steve Stych with a magnificent 42 points, while John Jackson took the Division One prize with 38 points. 

Graham Cummings achieved a 'hole in one' on the 10th hole, well done Graham. 

The winning Sheelah Creasy team

The winning Sheelah Creasy team - Credit: Honiton GC