Byrt Trophy triumph for Board and Howarth at Axe Cliff

It was invitation time once more at Axe Cliff with the Byrt Trophy played for in very windy conditions, writes Janet Dack.

The winners were Dougy Board and Pete Howorth from East Devon with 65 points well ahead of second place Richard Gibbons and Vic Wood from Honiton with 60 points.

Third place went to home player Geoff Greenslade with Darren Mears from East Devon beating Garry Wall and Paul Dyke from Lyme Regis both with 59 points on the back nine.

The best player for Axe Cliff was Ronnie Reed with 32 and for invitees Wayne Vincent from Lyme Regis Golf Club with 34.

The August Medal was played for last Sunday in yet again very windy conditions.

You may also want to watch:

First place went to Neil Jones with a nett 73.

In second Paul Clode with a nett 74 beating Simon Sweetland who took third place both with nett 74.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus