Francis Clark Devon Cricket League to undergo major change for the 2015 season.

PUBLISHED: 21:17 10 December 2014 | UPDATED: 21:17 10 December 2014

The Francis Clark Devon Cricket League is to undergo major change for the 2015 season.

At a recent league meeting it was agreed by the member clubs that; The Premier, A and B 1st XI Divisions remain as things are with it being a county-wide divisional competition. However, new from next summer will be regionalisation from C 1st XI Division level down.

It was also unanimously agreed that in C Division 1st XI (East) and the C Division 1st XI (West), one independent umpire is appointed to each game with the second umpire supplied by the home club”

The third major change was that whilst the Premier and A 2nd XI Divisions remain as at present, a county-wide competition there will be regionalised divisions from B 2nd XI down.

This has an impact for the likes of Axminster and Seaton at 2nd XI with both next year lining up in a new B Division East 2nd XI section. That new regionalised section will comprise of ten clubs; Alphington, Axminster, Bideford, Bradninch, Braunton, Chudleigh, Clyst Hydon, Seaton, Sidmouth IIIs and Thorverton.

Feniton will also find themselves up against some different opposition as they are in the new-look 1st XI C Division (East) where they will be meeting; Alphington, Barnstaple, Clyst Hydon, Filleigh, Kentisbeare, Ottery St Mary, Shaldon, Seaton and Uplyme and Lyme Regis.

For all the divisions for next season visit

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald