Seaton are Kwik cricket champs

PUBLISHED: 10:33 15 June 2011

Kwik Cricket winners

Kwik Cricket winners


The annual Axminster Town Cricket Club Kwik Cricket Tournament, at Cloakham Lawn, saw 110 boys and girls, in 11 teams from five schools, take part in a total of 28 matches.

The final this year was contested by Seaton Primary School A and B teams, and was eventually won by Seaton A.

The day was run by Axminster CC head coach Dan Murnane, with the assistance from fellow club members Brian Downton, Dave Murnane and Ryan Walker. Also this year, the club used eight young sports volunteers from Axe Valley Community College: Matt Rockett, James Rockett, Reid Mawdsley, Matt Chenery, Laura Squire, Chelsea Bailey, Emma Griffiths and Jonny House.

Local primary schools are invited to enter and if any who may not have been wish to be involved next year, or indeed to avail themselves of the club coaches ,they should contact the club.

The club Friday evening junior sessions continue until the end of term, so those interested could also attend at Cloakham from 6pm.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald