Devon rugby clubs encouraged to enter Crabbie’s National Rugby Awards

England international Chris Robshaw

England international Chris Robshaw - Credit: Archant

Devon rugby clubs are being encouraged to enter the Crabbie’s 2018 National Rugby Awards, which give recognition to clubs at all levels and their members for their contribution to the game.

Clubs of all sizes can enter the awards, which recognise achievements, as well as dedication and commitment to the game of rugby.

The largest rugby club awards night in the world, the Crabbie’s 2018 National Rugby Awards event will be attended by rugby celebrities, Premiership players and members of the England rugby team and will be held at the Rose Room, Twickenham Stadium on Wednesday, August 29, 2018.

Lucy Cottrell, Brand Manager, Crabbie’s Alcoholic Ginger Beer, says: “Crabbie’s is an avid supporter of grassroots rugby. Our Crabbie’s Rugby Rewards activity sees us donate kit and equipment to community and local clubs up and down the country.

“The glamour of international tournaments is exciting, but the roots of rugby begin in local club communities. It’s the principles learned and nurtured during the early stages that build strong foundations for players’ sporting careers.

You may also want to watch:

“The extensive support network local communities create around the game is invaluable, not just the players, but members and players’ families and friends too.

“There’s a real passion at grassroots level that deserves to be recognised and that’s why we would like local clubs in Devon to join us at the Crabbie’s National Rugby Awards event to celebrate their achievements, as well as everything else that’s great about Rugby.”

Most Read

Chris Robshaw, English Rugby Union player and ambassador for the Crabbie’s National Rugby Awards, says: “There is no other event that brings together all the clubs and players from all the leagues in England, providing a real celebration for all those involved in English rugby – so come on, Devon, get entering!”

Award categories include Rugby Club of the Year, Men’s and Women’s Teams and Players of the Year, Coach of the Year, Rugby Club Volunteer of the Year and Facility Development of the Year.

Clubs can enter for free by completing the online entry form at by June 30, 2018.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus