Fabulous Circus victory in Honiton's winter comp

Circus Winner John Tierney

Circus Winner John Tierney - Credit: Honiton GC

The Winter roll up circus at Honiton Golf Club has been won by John Tierney with a cumulative total of 45pts from David Carnall with 43pts and Mark Parkinson with 35.   

John thanked new and old members for turning up throughout the winter and gave a special mention to Mark Reggie Parkinson the Circus Master for organising the event each week, plus a warm welcome to debutants Mark Kingdon and Bernard Mcvittie. In the last event, Tim Morris (42) finished first ahead of David Carnall (36) and Ian Atyeo (34). 

Tim Metheringham shot a very impressive 41 to win the Sunday Stableford, ahead of Paul Coates (38) and Caroline Bond (38). Andy Manley (37) won the Monday Stableford, followed by Merv Blackmore (36) and Jerry Rice (36). 
For the weekend Texas Scramble, Andy Morris, Martin Smith and Paul Rutland were successful, beating Martin Hancock, Dave Chaffey and Neil Pullman and in third was Paul Knight, Rob Hazeltine and Mark Fowler. 

Winners of the Centenary Goblets in the Tuesday Mixed were Sarah Dawe and Max Pipe (45). Danusia White and Harry Lawrence took second place, with Mona Carter and Ken Wood in third. 

The winner of Division 1 in the April Medal was Len Wright with a very creditable nett 69. Second place went to Jim Wallis with a nett 70 and with a nett 72 was Pat Purtell beating Neil Price on countback. 

The winner of Division 2 and also the monthly tankard was David Armstrong with a brilliant nett 64 followed closely by Andy Manley with a nett 65 in second place. Third place went to Alex Neil with a nett 69 winning on countback from Chris Shepherd in fourth also wiyh a nett 69. 

In Division One of the Ladies Medal, Linda Blundell took first place with a net 76, followed by Anusara Trayling and Olwen Eaton. In Division Two, Liz Rogers took first place with a nett 69, narrowly beating Hilda Hoepelman and Cathy Williams. 

Most Read

Monica Scovell won with a nett 35 in a 9-hole Medal from Diane Rider 36, while Caroline Bond just pipped Sheila Palmer in the EG Medal. 

Sarah Dawe and Max Pipe

Sarah Dawe and Max Pipe - Credit: Honiton GC