Feniton bowlers celebrate marvellous season at the Tumbling Weir Restaurant

PUBLISHED: 19:31 11 December 2013 | UPDATED: 19:31 11 December 2013

Feniton bowlers celebrated a wonderful 2013 season with an awards ceremony at the Tumbling Weir Restaurant.

A highlight of the campaign had been the men’s section finishing as runners-up to Madeira in the section three County Trophy competition.

They also finished as runners up to Madeira in the section three, Foxlands competition and also the Top Club competition.

The Over-60s teams again both just missed out on promotion finishing third in their respective leagues.

The club president made the presentations to the winners and runners up of the annual competitions.

The Men’s Singles title was presented to Tony Kury with Robin Cooke the runner-up. Kury also picked up the Men’s Singles title (Ian Veitch the runner-up) and the Men’s Handicap trophy (David Evans was runner-up).

Ruby Veitch received the Ladies’ Singles to honour with Glynda Blackmore the runner-up.

Blackmore made up for missing out in the singles with victory in the Ladies’ Handicap with Gill Smith the runner-up.

Blackmore also paired up with David Evans to win the Club pairs title with Les Ley and George Skinner the beaten finalists. The men’s 2-bowl winner was John Livings with Dave Saunders the beaten finalist and the ladies’ 2-bowl was won by Sue Kury with Glynda Blackmore taking home the runners-up trophy.

The Mixed Pairs winners were Eileen Rolph and David Evans with Jo O’Sullivan and George Skinner the runners-up. The Mixed Mixed Triples winners were Don Conbeer, Avril Coyne and Tony Kury, with the runners-up the trio of Di Phillips, Ian Veitch and Mike Evans.

The 3-bowl pairs winners were once again the combination of David Evans and Glynda Blackmore with the runners-up being Jim Skinner and Sue Kury. Richard and Glenys North landed the Husband and Wife competition with Dave and Cara Sanders the runners-up.

The Sir John Acland trophy was won by Dave Sanders with John Wheatley the runner-up.

David Morris lifted the Founders Shield with Joyce Lovell the runner-up and the Marjorie Ferguson trophy was won by Bonnie Halse with Cara Sanders the runner-up.

Last, but certainly not last, the Singles League winning trophy was received by Steve Goodenough with Dave Sanders taking home to runners-up award.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Most Read

Latest from the Midweek Herald