Feniton bowlers make winning start to new season

Feniton chairman Mike Chipperfield bowls the first wood of the new season

Feniton chairman Mike Chipperfield bowls the first wood of the new season - Credit: Archant

On Easter Monday Feniton Bowling Club held its Opening Drive on what was a gloriously sunny afternoon, writes Roger Smith.

After the Reverand Cate Edmonds had blessed the green, club president, Michael Chipperfield bowled the opening wood of the 2014 season.

The main competition was won by the trio of Phil Spreadbury, John Rolph and John Dibble with a score of plus 12 with the runners-up being Liz Morris, Don Conbeer and Robin Cook with plus10.

The competitive season started with a 91-42 success against Dunkeswell with the winning rinks those of; G Blackmore, E Cox and A Evans (34-7), E Goodenough, J Rolph and L Ley (22-8) and L Crook, A Pritchard and D Coyne (19-9).

This was followed by an excellent win away on Axminster’s all weather green by 64-57. The winning rinks were F Jones, A Evans and J O’Sullivan (21-8) and T Young, V Jones and D Evans (18-12).

You may also want to watch:

Next up a most pleasing win at home against local rivals Ottery St Mary by 97-82. The winning rinks were L Morris, M Evans, D Phillips and D Evans (28-14) and J Wheatley, T Young, J Rolph and J Smith (19-10).

Last but not leas in week one there was disappointment in a 109-93 reversal at the hands of visiting South Molton with the two winning home rinks being G Skinner, J Skinner and D Viles (26-7) and Ru Clarke, G Phillips and D Conbeer (18-9).

Most Read

The winter internal league competitions have finally been completed. The skittles league was won by ‘The Goodies’ comprising Alan and Gill Smith, Christine Granger, Andy Hughes and Ted Goodenough.

The runners-up were ‘Office Dibble’s Pals’ made up of Andrew and Judy Evans, Phil and Sally Spreadbury, D Conbeer and John Dibble.

The winner of the Reg Parish singles skittles competition was Don Conbeer (80) and the runner up was Dave Sanders (78).

The highest men’s score for the league season was the 54 by Isaac Daniels with the 53 by Dave Sanders claiming him the runners-up berth.

The highest ladies score was Sally Spreadbury with 48 with the next best the 41 by Christine Granger.

The Vic Skinner pool competition was won by Roger Clarke who defeated Richard North in the final.

The knockout ‘World Cup of Skittles’ was won by ‘Officer Dibbles Pals’ who comprised of Andrew and Judith Evans, Don Conbeer and John Dibble who defeated ‘The Exiles’ (Mike and Joy Evans, John Wheatley, Charles Manley).

The winter short mat bowls competition was won by Tony Kury, Avril Coyne and John Wheatley.

The club always welcomes new members, established players, beginners or juniors. Beginners will be given free coaching to make them sufficiently proficient to play in matches. Monday is a roll-up night and gives new members a chance for informal practice and the opportunity to meet other players outside of match situations.

Anyone interested in joining should contact club secretary Les Ley on 01404 851463.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus