Farway win Fair Play award

PUBLISHED: 11:39 13 July 2011


FARWAY FC, who play in the Premier Division of the Perry Street League, won the Bob Hall Fair Play Trophy and are the first Premier division team ever to win the award.

The trophy is awarded after teams are awarded marks for fair play after every match by the referee.

Manager Andy Baily said: “We are very proud to win the award.”

Aft he club’s recent end of season dinner, held at the Hare and Hounds, Gittisham, Ben Williams was voted Players’ Player of the Year by his 1st XI teammates.

Matt Williams was the manager’s Player of the Year. Mark Burrough won the 2nd XI Player of the Year and Clubperson of the year was won by treasurer Janet Newton.

Training starts at 7.30pm, tomorrow, Thursday, at the club’s pitch in Farway. Most of last season’s players are committed to returning to the side but any new players will be welcome, especially a 2nd XI keeper.

Andy Baily stays on as 1st team manager, assisted by Paul King. Greg McCollum manages the 2nd XI, who play in Perry Street Division Four. James Salter will be 1st XI captain.

Baily said:” We had a difficult season last time, but we are looking to start afresh. Anyone who is interested in joining the club should call him on (01404871) 215.

League fixtures start in September.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald