Morrison Bell Cup - the winners since 1921

PUBLISHED: 08:00 12 June 2013 | UPDATED: 08:00 12 June 2013

Football generic

Football generic


The recent victory by Feniton in the Morrison Bell Cup was the third such victory in that competition for the Blues.

Fresha Devon and Exeter League press officer Colin Goodwin has been kind enough to dig deep into the archives to see just who is the most successful team of all time in the Morrison Bell Cup, one of the oldest competitions in local football, and it is an honour very much held by Budleigh Salterton.

The Greenway Lane side have lifted the trophy no fewer than 21 times which is ten more than the next most successful side, Sidmouth Town.

Third in the all-time most wins listings come Ottery St Mary with nine wins whilst Exmouth Town (8), Beer Albion (6) and Lympstone (5) come next.

Feniton, Seaton Town and Exmouth Amateurs have three wins each whilst Axminster Town and Honiton Town have two wins each.

The other clubs to lift the trophy since 1921 are Royal Marines AFC, Colyton, Cullompton Rangers, Culm United, Withycombe, Clyst Valley and Exmouth Church Institute, the latter winning it in 1921!

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald