Golfers mark the new year

PUBLISHED: 20:13 13 January 2011




HONITON - With the New Year Celebrations over John Marchant marked the first day of the New Year by phoning friends to organise a game for the Sunday, little realising the club was way ahead of him.

The course was open to play a non qualifier medal. Slightly brutal, I thought, considering all the partying we had indulged in over the Christmas period, but nothing could keep John from enjoying 'a game.'

He played to a majestic 1 under par 68 to take the Div 1 prize ahead of D Richards 69 and P Dimond 70. Div 2 had S Martin take the day with a 69 ahead of M Matthews and D England both on 70.

●A number of ladies braved the weather to try and walk off all the Christmas fayre that had been consumed. The competition was an Individual Stableford played over 10 holes, shotgun start and for many this was their first swing of a golf club for weeks. The Silver Division Winner was lady vice-captain Sue Ritchie with 20pts. Bronze 1 winner was Dot Grove with 21pts. and Bronze 2 winner was Jan Lloyd with 20pts. Runner-up was Lesley Oxenham 14pts.

AXE CLIFF - After the December snow and frosts, the New Year has seen the Seniors back in action with the sixth round of the 15 hole Pairs better ball Winter League Programme.

While it was good to be playing again the persistent rain and general chill made scoring difficult.

In the final analysis two teams tied with 33 points and the winners on countback were Norman Bowles (22) and Iain Bain (13) with Chris Jowett (16) and Alan Vincent (21) having to settle for second place. Two other teams were one stroke behind on 32 points with Rob Grove (16) and Bryan Dale (22) placed third on countback and Clive Davie (18) / Terry Jessup (19) just missing out.

●After several weather cancellations the main club managed to play a few competitions over the festive season. On New Year’s Day, the Hangover Cup was played for. The winner with +3 was Gavin Walker. Second with + 2 was Andrew Chambers and third with + 1 was Paul Curtin. The following day a full field competed for the January Medal and the Cosh Trophy, open to all members who had won a Medal during 2010. Division One was won by Dave Wills with a fantastic nett 64. Second was Mike Cottam, nett 66 and third was Cyril Hellier, nett 67. Division Two was won by Brian Board, nett 66. Brian Waller was second with nett 68 and a better back nine than third placed Jim Matthews. Mike Cottam won the Cosh Trophy with his score of nett 66.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald