Grizzly Cub Run success for Sidmouth RC’s Ben Chesters

The Grizzly 2019. Ref mha 11 19TI 2019 1010235. Picture: Terry Ife

The Grizzly 2019. Ref mha 11 19TI 2019 1010235. Picture: Terry Ife - Credit: Archant

The 2019 Grizzly, nine-mile Cub Run had 589 finishers and was won by Ben Chesters of Sidmouth RC in a time of 1:10:03, writes Dave Mutter.

Second home was Ben Moller in a time of 1:11:42 and third was AVR’s Ollie Rodger in 1:12:12.

Catie O’Donoghue of Bristol & West AC was the first female, finishing fourth overall in 1:13:00, with Rachel Collins of Chard RR, the second lady in 1:22:56, just outsprinting Suzanne Spiller of Honiton RC, pipping her to the line by a single second!

Other AVR Cub results were: James Guler, 17th, 1:19:29; Jon Day, 18th, 1:21:06; Chris Keeffe, 37th, 1:26:37; Barry Follett, 48th, 1:29:11; Phil Bayliss, 82nd, 1:34:54; Nicola Rendell, 85th, 1:35:14; Andrew West, 91st, 1:36:28; Steven Maclure, 104th, 1:38:43; Wayne Tooze, 106th, 1:39:01; Louise Harrison, 151st, 1:44:24; Rosie Thoennissen, 162nd, 1:45:35; David Gedye, 163rd, 1:45:35; Adele Foxwell, 171st, 1:46:34; Dave Mutter, 193rd, 1:48:53; Sarah Shepley, 228th, 1:53:41; Vicki Wraight, 229th, 1:53:41; Chris Driver, 234th, 1:53:52; Jane Calvert, 255th, 1:55:48; Henry Smith, 257th, 1:55:52; Kelly Giles, 262nd, 1:56:36; Ian Smith, 271st, 1:57:55; Jessame Coulson, 280th, 1:59:30; Chris Boyd, 295th, 2:01:06; Eleanor Carr, 328th, 2:03:57; Simon d’Albertanson, 333rd, 2:04:14; Joshua d’Albertanson. 334th, 2:04:15; Kay d’Albertanson, 335th, 2:04:15; Angela Kerr, 349th, 2:05:51; Amanda Harris, 350th, 2:05:53; Susan Wall, 357th, 2:07:17; Mark Harding-Perrott, 360th, 2:07:23; Martin Kerr, 361st, 2:07:25; Emma Richardson, 401st, 2:12:09; Samantha Tooze, 402nd, 2:12:10; Tracy Chapman, 408th, 2:12:51; Linda Butterworth, 409th, 2:12:52; Julie Barton, 415th, 2:13:11; Steve Buxton, 416th, 2:13:12; Rachel Hiscock, 435th, 2:14:52; Vicky Austin, 500th, 2:22:01; Janet Woodward, 502nd, 2:22:10; Gill Day, 503rd, 2:22:10; Debbie Payne, 518th, 2:25:44; Sam Summers, 546th, 2:30:22; Denise Burges, 547th, 2:30:23 and Daisy Forster, 583rd, 2:59:01.

As a prelude to the main Grizzly there were junior runs on Saturday afternoon. The Junior Grizzly was won by Jacob Bell of Ely Runners in 15:55 with Harvey Green second, in 16:19 and Sam Eyre third, in 16:36; both are AVR members. The Junior Cub was won by Will Birchall of Mrs Ethelston’s Primary School in 7:43 with Harrison Walker of Seaton Primary taking second place in 8:19, with third place going to Kendra Druce of Gold Star Runners. The Fun Run was won by Ellis Bown of Exmouth Harriers in 9:14 with Louis Vine of Beer Primary taking second place in a time of 9:18 and Ray Larner of Seaton Primary took third spot in a time of 9:22.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus