Hill climbs to the top on Captain’s Day

Neil Pullman Captain and Winner Paul Hill

Neil Pullman Captain and Winner Paul Hill - Credit: David Carnall

Neil Pulman held his Captain’s Day at Honiton GC and winning with a great score of 43 pts was Vice President Paul Hill, followed in by Andy Phillips with 42 and 3rd was Julian Netherway with 41.  
Winning the ladies prize was Shelia Palmer with 38pts and in 2nd place was Janet Hughes with 37pts.  
Also held on the day was the Jim Loosmore longest drive competition with Oli Cave taking the honours. With 17 players shooting under par, a special mention goes to Head Greenkeeeper Stuart Broom and his team as the course and especially the greens, which are in superb condition.  
Paul thanked everyone for an excellent day and turned to the Captain to congratulate him on his term as Captain throughout the pandemic. It has been a trying term for Neil but he has been a credit to Honiton Golf Club. 
The sun shone bright for this year's Lady Captain's Day at Honiton Golf Club. The ladies played a great 14-hole waltz competition and the successful winners were Liz Rogers, Kathy de Lacy, Ladies Captain Vera Richardson and Hilda Hoepelman.  
It was smiles all round when the ladies section used the occasion to present flowers to the Lady Captain before tucking into a fabulous afternoon tea. 
The Bill Collins Memorial Trophy was this year held at Honiton Golf Club, the first Bills Day was held at Wentworth in 1976 and it is now in its 45th year. The day was organised by Barry Dunn and pictured winning the trophy is the Dartmoor League Captain Julian Netherway.   
The Seniors held the Ken Fordie Stableford on July 23 and Peter Clarke did something most golfers could only dream about, shooting a score below their age, he shot a 68 and Peter reliably informs us he is 70 - a great effort. It was good enough to win the trophy on the day from John Jackson and Ray Cavill.   
In Division Two, winning with 40pts was Nicolas Pavey, Geoff Stone 2nd with 39pts and Dave Morgan 3rd with 38pts. 
Seniors Captain David Scott will remember the day for his hole in one on the 2nd. 

Dartmoor League Captain Julian Netherway

Dartmoor League Captain Julian Netherway - Credit: David Carnall

Liz Rogers, Kathy de Lacy, Ladies Captain Vera Richardson and Hilda Hoepelman

Liz Rogers, Kathy de Lacy, Ladies Captain Vera Richardson and Hilda Hoepelman - Credit: David Carnall

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter