Honiton Ladies win national indoor title

PUBLISHED: 21:04 03 April 2015 | UPDATED: 16:32 14 April 2015

The winning Honiton team.

The winning Honiton team.


History-making Honiton ladies won the English Indoor Bowling Association’s four-rink inter-club Yetton Plate Championship in Nottingham on Saturday, writes Julie Grant.

It was quite a weekend for Honiton, who became the first Devon club to win this national championship title.

Spectators supported anxiously but vociferously and shouted the players to a win by 15 shots over Doncaster.


Rosemary Hirons, Berry Maynard, Yvonne Rayner, Carole Binmore 28-14; Ann Brown, Ann Hillyear, Carol Smith, Julie Grant 20-18; Lynda Dommett, Dulcie Broughton, Joan Heard, Sue Evans 18-17; Sally Spreadbury, Pearl Hackwood, Rita Barwick, Shirley Hiscocks, 19-21.

● Axminster Indoor Bowls Club had some close matches during their finals weekend.

Ladies singles: winner – Ann Clayton ; runners-up – Alison Glyde

Men’s Singles: winner – Roger Legg ; runners-up – Steven Apsey

David Crompton Cup: winner – David Harris; runners-up – Roger Legg

Joy Lintott Cup (ladies pairs): winners – Ann Clayton and Phil White; runners-up – Brenda Edwards and Margaret Crompton

Ladies Pairs: winners – Ann Clayton and Phil White; runners-up – Margaret Brown and Margaret Crompton

Men’s Pairs: Winners – David Harris and Howard Keep; runners-up – Andy Spiller and Roger Legg .

Ladies Invitation: winners – Alison Glyde and Steven Apsey; runners-up – Ann Clayton and John Ellis.

Non-Winners Cup: winner – Mike Heneghan; runners-up – Frank Bridge.

In the last ladies friendly of the indoor season, Axminster lost at home to Madeira in a triples match (35-55) despite winning on two of the three rinks played.

The successful trios were Margaret Stancliffe, Joan Quick, and Margaret Crompton (17-13) and Phil White, Barbara Mowatt, and Judith Moffitt (15-11).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald