Honiton Under-10s suffer shoot-out heartache

The Honiton Town Terrors Under-10 team who were beaten in a thrilling East Devon Youth League cup fi

The Honiton Town Terrors Under-10 team who were beaten in a thrilling East Devon Youth League cup final - Credit: Archant

Honiton Terrors Under-10s suffered shoot-out agony as they were beaten in the final of the East Devon Youth League’s Chairman’s Cup.

Supporters were out in good numbers for both teams. Seaton made a bright start, but the excellent defending of Louie Stamp and Ewan Evans was matched only by Zac Harrison’s tenacious passing. End-to-end action continued with Joseph Charlton and Dominic McCreadie impressing in midfield. It was James Pring who fired Honiton ahead and that sparked a tremendous response from Seaton who were denied a number of times by stout defending and good goalkeeping.

After the break Seaton drew level, but Honiton kept their heads with Jake Mabbutt and Connor Harrison working hard in their forward roles. Jacob Fisher and Ben Lapping battled and tackled merrily away and, with the cool heads of Jordan Harrison and Ewan Evans combined with some safe handling by keeper Harry Horn, made sure Seaton were denied further goals and so the game moved into extra-time.

Ten additional minutes could not separate the sides and so the cup was decided in a dramatic penalty shoot-out which Seaton won.

Honiton boss Mark Fisher said: “I am so proud of each and everyone of the players. They gave their all in what was arguably the team’s finest collective performance of the season.”

You may also want to watch:

After the match the team were presented with medals and Ewan Evans was presented with the East Devon Youth League chairman’s Man of the Match award.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus