Honiton win final game to seal title success

Picture: Thinkstock

Picture: Thinkstock - Credit: Getty Images/iStockphoto

Honiton defeated a Kentisbeare side that had already sealed promotion with them beating the Kents by six wickets at Mountbatten Park.

The visitors won the toss, batted first and lost wickets at regular intervals, eventually being bowled out for 191 with four deliveries of the 45th and final over still to be bowled. Kev Kelly (3-11) and Rob Ingram (2-29) were the most successful of the bowlers. Skipper Adam Holmes, Ben Kidson, Willy Graham and Ian Kelly each claimed a single wicket.

It was Dave Haysom who led the successful run chase, hitting an unbeaten 85, while Kieran Conway scored 49 as Honiton eased home with four wickets in hand and almost 14 overs to spare.

Honiton’s top spot finish means they go up as champions and, next season, in D Division East, they will face Barnstaple and Pilton, Budleigh 2nds, Clyst Hydon, Clyst St George, Feniton, Kentisbeare, Sandford 2nds, Sampford Peverell and Tiverton and Upottery.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus