Kantering around

Blue skies and a hot cross bun at the end of the race attracted more than 100 runners to the inaugural Kilmington Kanter. Tom Merson of Exmouth Harriers won in 39:07; a scorching time that could be a record for several years. The 2.5-mile Fun Run and Junior Kanter was won by Junior Axe Valley Runner Josh Coates in 17:55.

The seven-mile race started at the Cricket ground then through the village and up a long hill to Shute Woods. At this point Axe Valley Runner, Chris Keeffe was in the lead until a leg strain slowed him down. A fast downhill stretch past Shute House led into a flat section across the valley to Seaton Junction before a demanding climb back to the woods and through Kilmington to the finish.

Luke Reed was second, first AVR and first local runner in 45:11. James Gular came seventh in 46:58 followed by Phil Bayliss ninth and over-50 winner in 47:11. Tom Hilder was 11th, 47:56 in front of his father Mark who finished in 54:05.

Amy Greenhalgh was second lady in 50:09 quickly followed by Tim Sibley, 17th, 50:32. A determined Chris Keeffe was happy to complete the race in 51:31.

Robin Britton and Eleanor Wood battled for a sprint finish with Robin the victor in 51:55 with Eleanor fifth, seconds behind collecting the first lady V50 prize. Geoff Woodward who finished in 53:56 was followed home by Adele Foxwell, first V35 lady taking 55:24. Clare Hansford, 55:37 sprinted in to finish just one second in front of Ian Clements, with Chris Irving not far behind in 57:10.

You may also want to watch:

A stream of AVR runners continued with Andy Sayers, 61:16, Heather Riggs, 63:05 and Anna McLoughlin, 64:36. Dave and Lisa Braunton enjoyed the race together finishing in 70:14. Next came Emma Ellynn, 73:10, Bridget Keeffe, 73:26, Janet Cullum, 74:43, with Diane Newton and Anna Murphy in a joint time of 79:55, then Sam Studley in 86.28. Harry Moore won a prize for the oldest competitor in a time of 118:12.

The first adult home in the combined Fun Run and Junior Kanter was AVR’s Rick Wood in a time of 22:06. Thanks go to Race Director Malcolm MacDonald and to the all sponsors.

Most Read

?James Chaney was the winner of the senior April handicap in a new PB of 32.34mins. Janette Mack was second, 3.44; Chris Driver third, 24.25; Ian Clements fourth, 24.37 and Fiona Powell fifth, 27.59.

All the first five broke their PBs.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter