Kart finals thrill in donwpour conditions

PUBLISHED: 12:23 03 October 2012

Dunkeswell in the wet.

Dunkeswell in the wet.


Rain, rain and more rain was what greeted the drivers competing in Round 7 of the DKRC 2012 championship at Dunkeswell, writes Jim Bee.

With some big grids and several titles up for grabs there was plenty of action on track. Despite torrential rain, the Honda cadets did a good job and Ethan Ling put in strong drives to take two heat wins with Jordan Hurman claiming one.

In the final, Ling could not find a way past Harry Gooding who took his maiden win for Factory Racing at Dunks ahead of Ling and Alex Rees.

In the Comer cadets, George Hobbs took the win in heat 1 but Tommy Foster dominated the remaining heats and the final to take a well deserved win. Max Fenlon was second and George Hobbs rounded off a good weekend in third.

Ryan Edwards dominated the small Junior TKM class winning all three heats and the final.

Despite dominating the heats, Ben Pearson couldn’t make it a clean sweep in the Junior Blues as he narrowly lost out to Ellis Jackson in the final after winning all three heats. Robert Dudley was consistent taking four third places.

Charlie Cudlipp put down an early marker in the Rotax Minimax class which only spurred Isaac Channing to respond with two heat wins and taking the final by a margin of over seven seconds.

Despite their best efforts, no one could touch James Moorcroft as he dominated the Junior Max grid taking all three heats and the final in a devastating display of kart control in the wet. Sam Morgan was second and Liam Williams third.

The Senior Max grid had three different heat winners, Ashley Lewis, James Clarkson and Stew Baker. In the final, after a great start, Clarkson got away in front with Baker and Lewis battling it out in the deteriorating conditions. In the end, Clarkson took the win, Baker held second and Lewis claimed third.

Last up were the Rotax 177 class and again there were three heat winners with Darren Lane, Carl Watts and Alan Moore all coming out on top. As in the Senior class, it was these three who battled it out in the final with Lane pipping Watts to the win. Moore was third. A massive vote of thanks has to go the marshalling team who braved the elements and stayed focused all day. Honda Cadet: 1, 56, Harry Gooding; 2, 76, Ethan Ling; 3, 77, Alex Rees

Comer Cadet: 1, 53, Tommy Foster; 2, 67, Max Fenlon; 3, 43, George Hobbs.

Jnr TKM: 1, 77, 1, Ryan Edwards; 2, 81, Brandon Patrick; 3, 29, Louis Beavan

Junior Blue: 1, 18, Ellis Jackson; 2, 7, Ben Pearson 3, 19, Robert Dudley

Rotax MiniMax: 22: 1, Izaac Channing; 2, 23, Charlie Cudlipp; 3, 24, Sam Stephens

Junior Rotax: 1, 21: James Moorcroft; 2, 41, Sam Morgan; 3, 57, Liam WIlliams

Senior Rotax: 1, 66, James Clarkson; 2, 95, Stewart Baker; 3, 24, Ashley Lewis.

Rotax 177: 1, 28, Darren Lane; 2, 67, Carl Watts; 3, 21, Alan Moore

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald