Kart season comes to a close

PUBLISHED: 15:22 11 November 2010

Hoddesdon Kart Club

Hoddesdon Kart Club


Eighty drivers contested the final round of the club championship at Dunkeswell on the last weekend of October. It was also great to welcome back the 1992 F1 world champion, Nigel Mansell and his family who dropped in to give their support to all the drivers. Nigel was quick to dispel rumours that he was at the meeting in his capacity as F1 steward!

In the cadet class, championship leader Izaac Channing was not having it all his own way as Connor Hall dominated the heats taking three wins. However, in the race that mattered, Hall suffered a major carb issue on the start line dropping him way down the pack. This released second placed Channing to romp away and retain his title. Bradley Drowne was second with Harrison Thomas in third place.

The Minimax/Junior Blue libre grid gave the crowds some great racing. James Moorcroft consolidated his championship lead with two heat wins. In the final, the top three battled it out with Moorcroft taking the win and the championship from Sam Morgan and Guy Wenham. The Junior Blue class had three different heat winners with Ryan Edgecumbe, Ben Pearson and Alana Taylor all taking the chequered flag. In the finals, it was Egdecumbe who edged out Pearson to take the win with Taylor in third.

Fans of the Junior Rotax class were denied a climatic battle as class leader, Sam Morgan, was gifted the championship by second placed Nick Arthur who had elected to race elsewhere.

The Senior Max class were joined by a visiting driver, Greg Mansell who unwittingly became the most watched driver in heat one when he went out on slicks in very damp conditions. His decision provided very useful intelligence to the following classes racing. Adam Murphy took heat 1, but a dialled in Mansell dominated heats 2 and 3 to take the flag. Keeping a watching brief was Charlie Robertson who took a trio of third places in his effort to overhaul championship leader Murphy.

In the final, Mansell dropped a couple of places at the start but cut through the pack to take the lead on lap 7. Murphy however, had done enough to secure the 2010 title.

In the 177 championship, Colin Davis and Stewart Baker took the honours with Davis winning heats 1 & 2 whilst Baker grabbed a brace of 2nd places to secure his championship position. In heat 3 Baker dominated with Davis second. In the final, Baker had a good start and tracked Davis until lap 8 when he made his move to take the lead. With that move, he took the race and retained his title as 177 champion. Davis was second with Matt Isgrove in third.

It was good to see the Senior Blue drivers back again at Dunks and Chris Derrick, Duncan McLeod and Stephen Cullen locked out the top 3 places in all 3 heats. In the final it was the same again as Derrick led a lights to flag victory from McLeod and Cullen. Class promoter, Ron Shone, was fourth.

Last up and with the light fading fast were the 250 National Gearbox boys. With only a small grid there were points a plenty for just finishing. Andrew Gulliford had a storming day with 3 heat wins. Behind him, championship leader, Luke Plain kept station and scooped up the points. In the final, Gulliford was on a mission and stormed into a commanding lead and was never bothered by the others. However, for Plain, second was good enough to steal the championship from his brother and become the 2010 250 Gearbox champion.

As the light literally faded on the 2010 season, it would be wrong not to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of the teams that support the racing at Dunkeswell. Thanks must go to the Mansell family for their continued support and involvement in the club, to the admin and timing teams for their work behind the scenes. Thanks must also go to the marshals and paramedics who have been superb throughout the year. Lastly, thanks must go to all the competitors, who without, we wouldn’t have had such a brilliant season. Racing starts again in February so get prepping!

Final Championship Standings

Libre Cadet

1. 22 Izaac Channing Zip Exminster

2. 49 Bradley Drowne BRM Beaworthy

3. 26 Harrison Thomas Zip Merthyr Tidfil

Rotax MiniMax

1. 21 James Moorcroft Wright Dorchester

2. 99 Ian Hardy Top Kart Plymouth

3. 28 Joe Parkinson Maranello Wellington

Junior Rotax

1. 21 Sam Morgan Lewis Hamilton Bradley Stoke

2. 53 Tyler Weedon Alonso Gillingham

3. 45 Harrison Wignall Alonso Clevedon

Senior Rotax

1. 23 Adam Murphy Kosmic Tiverton

2. 32 Charlie Robertson Wright Birmingham

3. 39 Gordon Isgrove Redspeed Weston S Mare

Rotax 177

1. 95 Stewart Baker Storm Ilminster

2. 28 Darren Lane Tony Poole

3. 33 Rob Knight Redspeed Bournmouth

250 National

1. 46 Luke Plain Anderson Exeter

2. 33 Juan Moreno Anderson Plymouth

3. 73 Nigel Steed Cyclone Weston S Mare

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald