Karting cracker at Dunkeswell

Mansell Raceway, Dunkeswell is readying itself for the final October round of the karting season, writes Jim Bee.

In September’s round, the 70 plus drivers had a wet start for the warm up and first few heats but, by lunchtime the sun was out and it was slicks for the rest of the day.

Ari White dominated early in the cadet class but Alex Quinn who took heat 3 and the final. In the Minimax and Junior Blue Libre grid, James Moorcroft was peerless taking all three heats and the final with Sam Stephens and Ryan Nutland rounding off the podium places. In the Junior Blue class, it was Ben Pearson who dominated taking all four wins. Behind him, William Goodhew and Ryan Edgecombe were second and third.

The Junior Max grid saw three different heat winners - James Johnson. Sam Morgan and Tyler Weedon. In the final it was the same three drivers on the podium with Morgan edging out Johnson and Weedon.

In the senior rotax class Jaques Jensen won in the wet of heat 1. In heat 2, Championship leader, Gemma Batstone increased her title lead taking the win and in heat three, Stewart Baker was on top. In the final Jensen held off Baker and Ollie Beesley to secure the win. Darren Lane took all three wins and the final in the 177 class with Ron Shone in the senior Blue edging out Mike Ross for the top step of the podium. In the 250 National boys, Frazer Everett took heat 1 but Chris Kendall dominated the remaining heats and won in the final. Everett was second with Juan Moreno in third.

You may also want to watch:

With many of the titles going down to the wire, October’s final round of 2011 is going to be a classic and with exciting new racing opportunities coming, Dunkeswell is going to be the place to race in 2012!

Final Results and Standings

Most Read

Libre Cadet

1. 29 Alex Quinn, Project 1

2. 22 Izaac Channing , Zip

3. SW Ari White, Project 1

Mini Max

1. 21 James Moorcroft, Tony

2. 24 Sam Stephens, Alonso

3. 37 Ryan Nutland, Storm

Junior Blue

1. 7 Ben Pearson, CRG

2. 16 William Goodhew, Mac

3. 9 Ryan Edgecombe, Mac

Junior Rotax

1. 41 Sam Morgan, LH

2. 35 James Johnson, Kosmic

3. 53 Tyler Weedon, Alonso

Senior Rotax

1. 52 Jacques Jensen, Exprit

2. 95 Stewart Baker, CRG

3. 55 Ollie Beesley, Maranello

Rotax 177

1. 28 Darren Lane, Storm

2. 73 Terry Milton, Redspeed

3. 70 Richard Hancock, Tony

250 National

1. 77 Chris Kendall, Anderson

2. 55 Frazer Everett, Cyclone

3. 33 Juan Moreno, Anderson

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus