Karting finals

PUBLISHED: 14:17 10 June 2008 | UPDATED: 21:54 15 June 2010

Nigel Mansell

Nigel Mansell

Copyright Archant Ltd

Saturday practice was run in glorious sunshine as the forecast wet weather failed to materialise. However, this being Dunkeswell, it was always a case of when and not if it would eventually arrive.

Saturday practice was run in glorious sunshine as the forecast wet weather failed to materialise. However, this being Dunkeswell, it was always a case of when and not if it would eventually arrive. Arrive it did and with some vengeance as Sunday dawned wet, rendering the previous day's work on set-ups useless for the time being. Racing commenced with the Cadets and MiniMax getting out for their first heats before the 'quiet hour' was observed bringing proceedings to a halt. Unfortunately it became a 'Quiet 90 minutes' as a heavy fog (not even Monaco could match that!) descended on the track dropping visibility down to less than 30 metres. As soon as it was deemed safe to do so, racing restarted with the Junior Rotax leading the way. As the day progressed and the rain eased off, a dry line appeared and it became a contest to see who would blink first and go out on slicks. The answer to that question came when Senior Rotax driver Leo Mansell went out and immediately set the pace on slicks, removing all doubt that now was the time to change. The finals were held in clear dry conditions and provided some excellent action for the spectators. In the cadets, Ryan Edgecombe led the field after the restart and took the win whilst in the MiniMax class it was all happening at the front as one of four drivers were capable of winning. In the end Levi Coombs came out on top. In the Junior Rotax, Peter Rundle came from fourth place to record a commanding victory after struggling in the early heats with his set- up. The Mansell Family achieved another impressive haul of silverware with Gregg and Leo taking first and second respectively in the Senior Rotax class whilst in the Rotax 177 'heavy' Nigel took the honours. The visiting Biland Class provided the crowds with a different style of kart to watch with 46 Luke Williams taking the victory. Afterwards, Rene Lubbock (series promoter) recorded his thanks to the club for providing a warm welcome and to the Mansell Raceway team for a superb circuit to race on. The 250 Gearbox are always a joy to watch and this final was no different. It was fairly sorted at the front as Roy Beal led the way but in the midfield it was all kicking off as three drivers connected in the Complex leaving one of them, 77 Chris Kendall, parked on the grass and out of the race whilst 52 Paul Jarvis managed to limp around the remaining laps to record a finish. At the back, 99N Luke Plain and 55N Frazer Everett were trading places in their efforts to take the Novice Trophy with Frazer just edging it on the line, a good result considering it was only his second race at the circuit. Thanks need to go to Mansell Raceway who sponsored this month's event and provided some outstanding trophies for the lucky recipients to take home. There was one additional trophy, The Devon Air Ambulance Trophy, awarded by the stewards for the most impressive driver of the day. The concept is simple, make a donation to the DAA, put a sticker on your kart and drive to the best of your ability! The lucky recipient, Cody Tree, won the trophy after his impressive drive in the MiniMax final. Overall, it was another fantastic day's racing at the premier circuit in the Southwest so, if you want to see what karting is all about, then check out the Dunkeswell Kart Club website www.dunkeswell.com for further information.Results and final standingsCadetsWTP1, 42 Ryan Edgecombe (Zip)Honda1, 51 Alex Waterhouse (Solo)2, 73 Harvey Lanaway (Birel);3, 83 Matt Duffett.Novice Trophy: 23N Robbie Gallier (Intrepid)Comer1, 49 Bradley Drowne (Wright);2, 20N Brandon Hague (Intrepid);3, 40 Beau Spivey (Mari).Novice Trophy: 69N Gregory Mayled Rotax MiniMax1, 99 Levi Coombs ((Wright);2, 72 Cody Tree ;3, 53 Tyler Weedon (Intrepid).Novice Trophy: 18N Ellis Bee (Intrepid)Junior Rotax1, 44 Peter Rundle (Maranello);2, 27 Luke Gee (Wright);3, 77 Jack Drinkall (Intrepid).Novice Trophy: 93N Ed Stone (Birel)Rotax Max1, 50 Gregg Mansell (Tonykart);2, 44 Leo Mansell (Tonykart);3, 34 Mathew Dowers (Tonykart).Novice Trophy: 21N Vince Mann (Redspeed)Rotax Max 177 Heavys1, 44 Nigel Mansell (Redspeed);2, 95 Stewart Baker (Kosmic);3, 18 Nigel Hughes (Redspeed).Novice Trophy: 40N Mark Alway (Tonykart)250 National Gearbox1, 45 Roy Beal (Cyclone);2, 78 Andrew Gulliford (Jade);3, 46 Lee Plain.Novice Trophy: 55N Frazer Everett (Cyclone)Senior Biland (Visiting Class)1, 46 Luke Williams (Birel);2, 8 James Hammond (Birel);3, 2 Steve Bell (Corse).Novice Trophy: 24N Wayne Bates

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald