Ladies share cup - Runner of Year

PUBLISHED: 14:47 14 December 2011

Grizzly training

Grizzly training


The Axe Valley Runners’ annual dinner and dance was held at the Dolphin Hotel, Beer where members celebrated a great season, writes Dave Mutter.

Eleanor Wood and Amy Greenhalgh were the joint winners of the Female Runner of the year and Alex Todd was the Male Runner of the Year.

They received their awards after a sumptuous meal, when chairman Garry Perratt presented the awards as follows.

Handicap winner – Gill Day with 155 points, Runner up – Tim Sibley 149, third, Clare Hansford 140. Team Award – The Forces’ March team, comprising Geoff Woodward, Retro Reynolds and Graham Newton who completed five marathons in five days.

The Derby and County AC Shield for the Most Improved Runner went to Gill Day. The Unfortunate Sole award went to Graham Newton for being bumped into by a car during the Forces March which gave him a bad back. Fortunately, he has now made a splendid recovery. The New Member’s award was won by Andy Hitchcock and the President’s Shield for running achievement went to Paul Johns for completing his first Ironman Triathlon.

Sue Tubbs won the Founders Award for improvement for her encouragement to the Wednesday training gang. For the second year running, Chris Irving won the Chairman’s Shield and it was great to see Jon Day win the Club Person award. Special awards went to Sandra Porter for her handicap marshalling and Debbie Barry for organising the dinner.

●There were 12 people eligible for the London Marathon club place and Becky Davey was the lucky winners, with Becs Crease on standby. Garry was the somewhat surprised to be given another special award to share with wife Marie for all they do for the club.

●As is the custom, after the “proper” awards were presented, Dave Mutter proceeded to embarrass a few runners by presenting them with alternative award certificates. Not to be outdone, Perratt then awarded “rosettes” to anyone who had beaten him in a race during 2011. After all the awards, the tables were cleared and everyone shook their booty to the music of The Barries, although it has to be said that not many were good enough for Strictly. A super time was had and the club look forward to another good year in 2012.

●Katie Coates was the December Junior handicap winner taking 17:30. 2, Josh Coates, 11:43; 3, Max Bowskill, 16:48; 4, Matthew Morbey, 13:12 and 5, Mollie Hansford, 14:41. Jayne Aplin won the Senior race in 32:32, followed by Robbie Holt, 20:29; Beth Sibley, 32:35; Alison Gould 30:55 and Clare Hansford 27:01.

●The next day, a gentle two-hour run around some of next year’s Grizzly course was planned. All went well and even Andy Hitchcock in his baggy trousers was going well. Then a decision was made to slightly extend the run. So three hours and 13 hilly, boggy miles later, numerous shattered AVRs and a dog were very pleased to be back at Beer Head car park!

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald