Lyme Regis golfers welcome in new captains

David Lyon, Lizzie Linnert and Matt Searle at Lyme Regis

David Lyon, Lizzie Linnert and Matt Searle at Lyme Regis - Credit: Archant

Lyme Regis held a very well attended AGM, traditionally the time when the new captains take over - Matt Searle, Lizzie Linnert (ladies) and David Lyon (juniors), writes Richard Jackman.

Also retiring were president Anne Humphreys after five years, replaced by past captain John Owen, and outgoing chairman David Cannings made way for Ian Hobson.

Despite the weather there was a large supportive crowd as all three captains had their traditional ‘drive in’ on Sunday and between them drove a total of over 600 yards, This distance was guessed by Adrian Morgan who donated his winnings to the capatain’s charity - Motor Neurone Disease

On the golf course results over the last week saw some impressive scores:

In the October Stableford Division One needed countback to decide the top three after a trio finished on 41 points.

You may also want to watch:

Adrian Morgan took first place with Mike Mudford second and Craig Mcgown third.

Division 2 was tight at the top as Peter Locke with 41 points took the honours from Luke De Pasquale on 40 and Jim Dick with 36.

Most Read

In the seniors’ stableford, John Toates maintained the high scoring as he romped Division One with 42 points from Charlie Lane, 39 and Richard Jackman, 37. Division Two was won by Mike List, 36 points from Tony Johnstone 34, who beat Bernie Styles on countback

New ladies captain Lizzie Linnert held a fun day with a Texas Scramble competition, and partnering Jane Dixon and Caroline Baker, won the competition

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus