Peace and Bonetta take the Plate

PUBLISHED: 10:08 07 April 2011

Captain Tim Avery with vice captain Paul Dimond with Sun Am plate winers Dea Bonetta and Jeff Peace

Captain Tim Avery with vice captain Paul Dimond with Sun Am plate winers Dea Bonetta and Jeff Peace


HONITON - Those teams not lucky enough to have made it to the club’s Sun Am final played an all-or-nothing better ball game for the Sun Am Plate.

A tightly-fought contest had J Peace and D Bonetta taking the Plate on count back from G Gilbert and D Morgan, both teams with 42pts. P Wall and A Sharland's 41pts came in a heroic third.

●Tuesday Mixed - Members played for the Chivers Goblets in a drawn-for-partners Greensome Stableford. Everyone was delighted that Geoff and Sheila Banks, previous organisers of the Tuesday Mixed, came to present the Goblets. This month’s worthy winners were Jean Putt and John Dickinson with 37 pts.

In second place, with 36pts, were Maureen McIllvean and Stan Squire, followed by third placed Ro Poole and Terry Dimond with 35pts.

●Ladies’ Section - it felt like it was back to winter on Wednesday, when the only thing driving was the wind and rain. The ladies competition was a bit of a non-event with only six people signing up in the inclement conditions.

Sue Ritchie and Jackie Seager entered the Ping Competition and the club 4BBB and were the only two to play 18 holes. They won the club competition but the Ping was void as a minimum of two pairs have to play.

The weekend medal held oat the end of March was won by junior player Keira Townsend with a great net score of 68.

●Senior Section - the first qualifying Medal competition of the year was accompanied by an ever-thickening mist. It did not hamper Mike Jones who turned in a storming round of 66 to take the Second Division by four clear shots to win overall and earn the monthly tankard, also reducing his handicap by two.

Alan Bacon and Bill Eaton were second and third respectively with 70, just ahead of Bob Underwood and Don Leach, both on 72. Division One was much closer with the top four all recording 71. Vic Wood snatched first spot on countback followed by Bill Nicholls, John Bevan and Ben Laite with Mike Kent taking the final prize position with 72. Ben need not search for lost balls again scoring two of only three 2s recorded and taking home 48 pristine golf balls.

Ben was also presented with the Ken Beake Shield as the winner of the winter eclectic competition, a one-stroke improvement in the last round just clinching it.

Matches with other clubs are coming thick and fast now and the latest one saw Honiton gain an impressive away win at Tiverton by one match in six.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald