Pink and blue on the Honiton greens

Honiton Golf Ladies Competition

Honiton Golf Ladies Competition - Credit: Honiton GC

The annual Lady Captain v Lady Vice Captain golf competition was held with nearly 40 members taking part at Honiton Golf Club.  

The Lady Captain's team wore pink and the Vice Lady Captain's team wore blue - even spells of rain didn't stop a great time being had by all those taking part. The competition was followed by a presentation to the winning team which this year was the Vice Lady Captain. 

Summer returned for the Tuesday Mixed competition and 35 players took part in a Texas Scramble.  One team was awarded a 'phantom' player to compensate for missing a fourth player and their handicap allowance adjusted accordingly.  

The winning team, with an impressive net score of 55 was Kathy de Lacy, Clive Backham and Caroline and Stephen Bond. The three-ball team of Ann Trayling, John Craig and Keith Crane took second place with net 56 points. Third place was decided on countback and went to Hilda Hoepelman, Mark Symons and Maureen and Harry Lawrence with a net score of 57. 

The Seniors Section held their annual Open tournament for the Henry Young Salver.  A total of 48 teams of three competed for the trophy, a total of 144 players, with the majority being visitors from other clubs. 

You may also want to watch:

The overall winners, with a creditable 45 points, were Paul Fowell, Andy Lane and Steve Rattie from Canford School in Wimborne, but they were chased to the line by several teams on 43 points, including three teams from Honiton and the eventual winners of the Visitors Team 1st prize, Eric Welsh, Alan Walker and Tony Heartford from Torquay Golf Club.  The winners of the Home Team prize on countback were Alan Devenny, Derek Keen and Nigel Broadbent.    

In addition there was a nearest the pin on the 12th, which was won by John Court from Tiverton, and nearest the cross on the 18th fairway, scooped up by Colin Wayman from Exeter.  

Most Read

James Samuel 39 won the latest men’s stableford, followed by Andy Richardson 37 and Mike Blake with 36. The Saturday circus, organised by Circus Master Mark (Reggie) Parkinson, saw Vice Captain Wayne Broom win convincingly with a score of 41, followed by David Carnall 37 and John Tierney 36.  

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter