Presentation evening at Honiton Golf Club

Presentation evening at Honiton Golf Club

Presentation evening at Honiton Golf Club - Credit: Honiton Golf Club

Honiton Golf Club held its Annual presentation evening on the 13th November where, due to the pandemic, prizes from 2020 were also presented.   

It all added up to a special celebratory event, with an incredible 72 trophies given out. The evening was a well organised event with Adrian Cave Master of Ceremonies, helped by all the Captains and Vice Captains.  

A special mention to Cathy Pawley and Julian Phillips, who made their way to the prize table on numerous occasions. The evening was rounded off with an excellent buffet. Thank You Emma. 

Mens & Ladies Stableford Golf Competition - Honiton Golf Club 

This month’s Mens & Ladies stableford golf competition saw a strong turnout with over 44 players taking part. The greenkeepers had done a great job on the course, which stood up well to the recent rainfall and the standard of play was as good as it gets, with the leader position changing several times during the game.  

After a superb day of golf, there could only be one winner, and Jon Marchant took first place with a great 38 points, narrowly beating Rob Hazeldine and Martin Smith, each with 36 points.  

Tuesday Mixed 

Most Read

The Tuesday Mixed has now moved to a morning start and, during the winter months, the competitions will be 14 holes only. This week, the format was a team stableford with any two scores to count. Taking first place with 72 points were Penny Blackburn, Caroline and Steve Bond and Harry Lawrence. In second place were Ann Trayling, Janet and David Hughes and John Craig with 68. 

Saturday Circus 

This week’s Saturday Circus, which had 28 players taking part, was won by Dave Carnall with an excellent 38 points, closely followed in by Mike Abraham and Mark Reed, who had 37 points each. 

Seniors Stableford 

The Seniors Stableford Division One winner was Gil Richardson with a very impressive 40 points, winning by six points from David Rouse and Derek Keen, Div Two winner was George Smith with 39, followed in by Geoff Stone with 37 and third Stephen Blundell with 35. 

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter